1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Please help having trouble with my computer and my usb port 2.0

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by VeryUpsetAlexis, Nov 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. VeryUpsetAlexis

    VeryUpsetAlexis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Okay so, I need to download music onto my ipod touch from itunes but everytime I plug it in it tells me that my device could perform better if I got a hi-speed usb port....And that is exactly what I did, I finally bought one and plugged it in to my computer...When I plug in the ipod touch it still says the same thing even though I have the hi-speed USB port 2.0....Can somebody PLEASE HELP ME?
     
  2. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    Do you have a model number for the Computer? A White Compaq doesn't tell us much except that it may be an older Compaq.
     
  3. VeryUpsetAlexis

    VeryUpsetAlexis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Uhmmm it says FP745A
     
  4. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    According to HP/Compaq the model number you posted is for a Flat Panel monitor. There should be a Model number on the front of the Computer case.
     
  5. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    Or is this a Dell Computer with a Compaq Monitor?
     
  6. VeryUpsetAlexis

    VeryUpsetAlexis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    That is the model number, when you say front of the computer case are your referring to the box that the computer came in?
     
  7. VeryUpsetAlexis

    VeryUpsetAlexis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    It is a dell computer with a Compaq monitor
     
  8. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    On the front of the Computer "the part the cd goes in" there should be a model number. On Dells it is frequently right near the Power Switch. Like Dimension 3000, or something like that. May be Optiplex or Inspiron but you would have to look to find out.
     
  9. VeryUpsetAlexis

    VeryUpsetAlexis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Uhmm it says Optiplex GX150
     
  10. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    Thats it. stay tuned.
     
  11. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    That is a very old dell computer. And is not likely to USB2.0 integrated. When you installed the High Speed USB adapter, you would have also had to install drivers for it. Did it come with a drivers disk?
     
  12. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    I think the poster purchased a USB hub and connected it to the existing USB ports. If that's the case, it won't solve the problem. The hub works at the speed of the ports its connected to.
     
  13. VeryUpsetAlexis

    VeryUpsetAlexis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    I have no idea lol but I doubt
     
  14. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    For some reason I was thinking you installed a PCI USB Card.
     
  15. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    @ VeryUpset Alexis. Is the High Speed USB port you plugged in just plugged into the old USB Port on the computer?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1028580

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice