Please help - internet not connecting!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

cowbell

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2006
Messages
18
Hey guys

I urgently need help... I just installed IE7 on my brother's computer (as well as mozilla firefox), but after restarting the computer, his internet doesn't work anymore. Well, except for msn, but everything else doesn't work. I tried opening up ie7, and it just says that it can't connect. Same with mozilla too.

I opened up the wireless thing, disconnected it, and reconnected it (this has worked before on this computer), but it's still not working! It says that more packets are being sent than received.

The strange thing is is that msn works while the rest of the internet doesn't... anyone got a reason why? And I don't understand why it was working perfectly before I installed IE7, but not after.

Also, is there absolutely anything I can do to try and get the internet back? It's just that he's left for tonight and is going to be back tomorrow, and unless I want to get my *** beaten, it better get fixed by tomorrow. :(

Thanks - please help! :(
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,405
(From a JohnWill post)

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

For these commands, Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.
 

cowbell

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2006
Messages
18
Right, I've done all of that, but it's still not working. :( Also, the winsock one gave me a message of reboot the machine for it to work completely, but the second one didn't...is that normal?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,405
"... but the second one didn't...is that normal?"

Maybe that's why the last line of JohnWill's post says, "Reboot the machine." :)

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
 

cowbell

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2006
Messages
18
But I did reboot the machine! :p

Anyway, here are the results:

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : gary-a0a4f6e103
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 802.11g/b Wireless LAN Client Adapte
r
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 08-10-17-0A-25-3F
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.3
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 03 July 2007 23:42:46
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 06 July 2007 23:42:46
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,405
OK, the ipconfig looks good. Now try these tests.

To open a Command Window: Start - Run – cmd (command in 98SE) - OK

To determine a computer's IP address and router's IP address: open a Command Window and type
ipconfig /all

The "Gateway" is the router's IP address.

Now for some troubleshooting. Following is how to use ping to test for communication with your router, the internet, and the internet with symbolic name.

1. On the PC open a Command window and type
ping IProuter (where IProuter is the IP address of the router)

Do you get Replies, or do you get packets lost?

IF you got replies,
2. ping 66.94.234.13 (or any other internet address you know)

Do you get Replies, or do you get packets lost?

If you got replies,
3. ping www.yahoo.com (or any other internet name)

Do you get Replies, or do you get packets lost?
 

cowbell

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2006
Messages
18
I didn't get any replies... it says PING: transmit failed, error code 65 and then says 4 packets lost.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,405
For ping 192.168.0.1?!?

You have a 3rd party firewall (internet security) problem. Or else a serious problem with that wireless adapter or driver.
 

cowbell

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2006
Messages
18
But it doesn't make any sense if that's the case... all I did was install internet explorer 7, and then it just failed completely... and if that was the case, msn wouldn't work, would it? Gah...this is annoying. :( Also, internet security problem? What could this be, because I really doubt it's the wireless stuff, considering everything was fine before I installed ie7. :(

edit: it says that around 7000 packets have been sent and 6900 have been received. but I thought it said none were being received for the ping? huh
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,405
I think the key on the ping is that the transmit failed. Without transmission there will be no replies.

These and other articles implicate Zone Alarm for the ping failure: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/316414
http://www.howtonetworking.com/casestudy/pingerror65.htm
http://www.chicagotech.net/error codes.htm

If Zone Alarm (or another firewall) is there, or partially there because of a dirty uninstall, all kinds of strange things can happen.

And, if it matters, I agree completely that installing the browsers should have had no negative impact on anything.
 

cowbell

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2006
Messages
18
His computer doesn't even have zone alarm.... In fact, the only firewall he has is the windows one and even that is turned off.

e: what is ICS?
edit again: turns out his computer used to have zonealarm... maybe it wasn't uninstalled correctly? I'll try installing and uninstalling again, hopefully this will work. :)
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,405
ICS is Internet Connection Sharing. It is not enabled according to the ipconfig " IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No".

I hope the ZA install/uninstall works. If not, I think there is some kind of clean-up utility or instructions on ZA's web site. Let us know.
 

cowbell

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2006
Messages
18
Hurray! Turns out it was a crappy uninstallation of zone alarm. Thank you so much terrynet... I may have stayed up many hours after my bedtime (I've got school in 4 hours... :(), but thanks to you, the problem is solved, and my brother won't commit me to eternal doom. :p THANKS!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top