1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Please Help! Lost text in Microsoft Word 2007 document

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by pinkpanther85710, Aug 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pinkpanther85710

pinkpanther85710 Thread Starter

So I am officially desperate! I worked on a project in Microsoft Word 2007. I then went to go open it the next day and all of the text was completely gone!! I am only a beginner when it comes to computers so I have absolutely no idea what happened.
    To better understand the problem here were the chain of events:
    I worked on 2 documents, saved them in a folder, and then closed MSWord
    I then worked on them the next day not realizing that for some reason they were opened as "Read Only"
    Seeing that, I copied the the text and saved them in new documents
    I went to Documents and attempted to move the new documents into the folder with the originals but an error message reading something like "this action cannot be completed because the file is open in another program" when the file was NOT open
    In my frustration I attempted to move it over and over again to no avail
    I gave up and closed the Documents folder and turned off my computer
    The very next day I went to open the project and both the original documents and the copied ones were COMPLETELY EMPTY!!!
    the files were still there but the all of text was completely gone!
    Through Microsoft forums I've repeatedly tried the "Recover Text from any File" and "Open and Repair" methods
    They've remained completely empty:mad:
    I don't think I can redo the project correctly in the time it is due! Please any info will help. Thanks