1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Please Help Me!!!!! Can I do online gaming with this pc?

Discussion in 'Games' started by karmakazy, Apr 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. karmakazy

    karmakazy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Will I be able to play quake 3 arena with this setup and can I update my video card?


    Processor Dual-core (2nd generation)
    Memory 2 GB
    Hard drive 360 GB
    CD/DVD burner 16X DVD±R / 8X DVD±RW with double layer and LightScribe
    Monitor 19in. flat panel LCD widescreen
    Network card 10/100 Base-T network interface
    Video NVIDIA GeForce 6150 LE TurboCache with 128 MB graphics memory
    Sound High Definition Audio, 8 speaker configurable
    Speakers Integrated into LCD monitor
    Operating system Windows® Vista™ Home Premium
    Software:

    * Microsoft® Works 8: Word processor, spreadsheet, database and calendar
    * Roxio Creator: Edit, burn and archive data to DVDs and CDs
    * Roxio MyDVD Basic: Make movies and slide shows and burn to DVD or CD
    * Muvee autoProducer
    * DVD Play: Watch DVD movies
     
  2. Beef246

    Beef246

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    132
    The graphic card is a bit old, but then again so is quake 3 arena, so you should be good with this, you should check to make sure quake 3 will run on visa I believe it should as its not too old of a game, but its always best to double check to make sure,

    Id say your good to go, maybe want to upgrade your card eventually, in order to play more current games.
     
  3. karmakazy

    karmakazy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks for the reply beef, but I have another question :eek:
    I want to update my vid card but I don't know much about pc's.
    Can you tell me what I would have to buy or do to make my pc
    like nice fast lol.... or can I?

    Thanks Karma
     
  4. gamerbyron

    gamerbyron

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,091
    Do you mean you want to upgrade video card? If so, you need to know if your motherboard has either an AGP, PCI, PCI=X? Just google it in images and you will know. I assume you either have AGP or PCI. Is there a reason why you want to upgrade it?
     
  5. karmakazy

    karmakazy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    I play online games like q3a I want to be able to handle the graphics without any
    bull crap..... I don't want my pc to just be able to handle the graphics....
    My pc is Hewlett Packard and I will have to find out what the motherboard is...
    It is upgradeable is what I am asking and what vid card would i need to upgrade to?

    Karma:rolleyes:
     
  6. Tanis

    Tanis

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,969
    First Name:
    Shane
    What is the exact model number for your PC?
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/704470

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice