1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

please help....not booting

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by matt101, Mar 25, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. matt101

    matt101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    amd athlon 2000+ xp
    160gb western digital hdd
    usb external 320gb seagate hdd
    i have windows vista ultimate build 6001 sp1
    128mb geforce fx5200
    512mb ram

    the last few days my pc has been switching itself off.....bsod+rsod
    then the pc will not boot.....it takes about 30 mins to get restart sometimes shorter and longer

    i thought it could be temp probs
    or memory

    cleaned the heatsink and fans
    cleaned graphics heat sink
    removed all dust

    made sure all is configured right in bios

    any help appreciated
    sooner the better
    i might not beable to start it again:(

    can anyone tell me what prog to get to do a full analysis
    so i can post here
    so maybe someone can help me
    or let me know what i need to do to give the info you need

    MANY MANY THANKS
    MATT101
     
  2. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    40,231
    There are a few things I would do.

    1 Test your memory with memtest

    2 Check your voltages in the bios. They should be constant and not fluctuate.

    3 Open the case and give the board a very close inspection with a bright light. Many socket A boards were built with bad capacitors. Look for any bulging/leaking/discolored caps.

    FWIW 512 of ram just does not cut it in vista. It works ok with 1gig however it works much better with 2gig of ram.
     
  3. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    40,231
    One other thing. Does this system shutdown if you let it run in the bios?
     
  4. matt101

    matt101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    checked mobo for leaks discolored and worn circuits.....nothing
    yes it does reboot in bios
    sometimes canot get into bios......20-30 attempts....thats if im lucky
    ill try memtest...and report back....if it dont shut down

    thanks for your help
     
  5. matt101

    matt101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    looked for memtest...but dont have a floppy drive
    anything else i can do
     
  6. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
  7. matt101

    matt101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    used vista since beta test with 512mb...i know its not ideal
    but only use pc for browsing...music and streaming to ps3...............not gaming or hungry apps
    no vista areo running.....basic graphics
     
  8. matt101

    matt101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    doing a ram test with ...memtest
    gettting errors........................memory errors detected copying between 4e54cf and 4e5416 did not result in accurate copy

    memtest has detected that your computer cannot accurately store data in RAM
    you need to fix this

    8 errors so far....test still running?....hanging on 219%
     
  9. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    If you can try it one stick at a time, you can narrow it down. But it looks like you've seen your gremlin.
     
  10. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    40,231
    With the system shutting down in the bios, it is a hardware problem. Here is what I would do.
    1 Pull any add-in cards except the video card. Pull any nic, sound, etc type cards.
    2 Disconnect any usb type device ie printer, scanner, hub, etc.
    3 Pull power from ALL drives both hd and optical
    4 Have just your keyboard and monitor connected to the system.
    5 Boot the system and enter the bios. See if it reboots now. If it runs fine, then one of the devices you disconnected is causing problems. If it does not run fine, it is either the motherboard, power supply, ram, or lastly cpu. You would need to swap parts with known good units to troubleshoot.
     
  11. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    40,231
    Opps just saw the last post. Looks like you have found your problem; either the ram or the board itself is failing.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/697100

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice