1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Please Help...PC restarts all of a sudden..

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by sekhar_xxx, Oct 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sekhar_xxx

    sekhar_xxx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    A new & strange problem...while working my pc has started to restart suddenly with a BLUE SCREEN ERROR..it usually happens when i'm working on lots of things..for instance i have firefox open..downloads on & then i click on my computer..the pc just restarts..so it basically happens when i switch to a different task...login happens as usual and i do not get any errors on disk checking..however when the system starts iget the error message-- the system has recovered from a serious error..with variable error messages..in technical information. here is the Hijack This log file--

    Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
    Scan saved at 7:25:42 PM, on 10/6/2008
    Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)
    Boot mode: Normal

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\SOFTWARES\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2009\avp.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
    C:\Program Files\SOFTWARES\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2009\avp.exe
    C:\Program Files\SOFTWARES\Nokia\Nokia PC Suite 6\LaunchApplication.exe
    C:\Program Files\DNA\btdna.exe
    C:\Program Files\PC Connectivity Solution\ServiceLayer.exe
    C:\Program Files\SOFTWARES\Nokia\Nokia PC Suite 6\OneTouchAccess.exe
    C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
    C:\Program Files\Windows Media Player\wmplayer.exe
    C:\Program Files\SOFTWARES\Trend Micro\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe

    O2 - BHO: Adobe PDF Reader Link Helper - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: ClickCatcher MSIE handler - {16664845-0E00-11D2-8059-000000000000} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\ReGet Shared\Catcher.dll
    O2 - BHO: IEVkbdBHO Class - {59273AB4-E7D3-40F9-A1A8-6FA9CCA1862C} - C:\Program Files\SOFTWARES\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2009\ievkbd.dll
    O2 - BHO: SSVHelper Class - {761497BB-D6F0-462C-B6EB-D4DAF1D92D43} - C:\Program Files\SOFTWARES\Java\bin\ssv.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: ReGet Bar - {17939A30-18E2-471E-9D3A-56DD725F1215} - C:\Program Files\SOFTWARES\ReGet Software\ReGet Deluxe 5.2\IEBar.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVP] "C:\Program Files\SOFTWARES\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2009\avp.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PCSuiteTrayApplication] C:\Program Files\SOFTWARES\Nokia\Nokia PC Suite 6\LaunchApplication.exe -startup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [BitTorrent DNA] "C:\Program Files\DNA\btdna.exe"
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [SRS Audio Sandbox] "C:\Program Files\SOFTWARES\SRS Labs\Audio Sandbox\SRSSSC.exe" /hideme
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [BitComet] "C:\Program Files\SOFTWARES\BitLord\BitLord.exe"
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-18\..\Run: [Nokia.PCSync] C:\Program Files\SOFTWARES\Nokia\Nokia PC Suite 6\PcSync2.exe /NoDialog (User 'SYSTEM')
    O4 - HKUS\.DEFAULT\..\Run: [Nokia.PCSync] C:\Program Files\SOFTWARES\Nokia\Nokia PC Suite 6\PcSync2.exe /NoDialog (User 'Default user')
    O4 - Startup: Metacafe.lnk = C:\Program Files\Metacafe\MetacafeAgent.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: Metacafe.lnk = C:\Program Files\Metacafe\MetacafeAgent.exe
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Do&wnload by ReGet Deluxe - C:\Program Files\Common Files\ReGet Shared\CC_Link.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Download A&ll by ReGet Deluxe - C:\Program Files\Common Files\ReGet Shared\CC_All.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\SOFTWA~1\MICROS~1\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\SOFTWARES\Java\bin\ssv.dll
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\SOFTWARES\Java\bin\ssv.dll
    O9 - Extra button: Web traffic protection statistics - {1F460357-8A94-4D71-9CA3-AA4ACF32ED8E} - C:\Program Files\SOFTWARES\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2009\SCIEPlgn.dll
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{651EBC7A-FCD8-4FCD-A6C2-54D441CF4710}: NameServer = 202.56.230.5 202.56.240.5
    O20 - AppInit_DLLs: C:\PROGRA~1\SOFTWA~1\KASPER~1\KASPER~1\mzvkbd.dll,C:\PROGRA~1\SOFTWA~1\KASPER~1\KASPER~1\mzvkbd3.dll
    O23 - Service: Kaspersky Anti-Virus (AVP) - Kaspersky Lab - C:\Program Files\SOFTWARES\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2009\avp.exe
    O23 - Service: FLEXnet Licensing Service - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Macrovision Shared\FLEXnet Publisher\FNPLicensingService.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: InstallDriver Table Manager (IDriverT) - Macrovision Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\InstallShield\Driver\11\Intel 32\IDriverT.exe
    O23 - Service: NVIDIA Display Driver Service (NVSvc) - NVIDIA Corporation - C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
    O23 - Service: ServiceLayer - Nokia. - C:\Program Files\PC Connectivity Solution\ServiceLayer.exe

    --
    End of file - 4732 bytes

    i used memtest86+ and windows memory diagnostic to check my RAMs..i have two RAMs..2gb 800mhz ddr2 & 1 gb 800mhz ddr2...checked them individually running for 8 passes...no errors were detected by the memtest86+...but when i ran the windows memory diagnostic..& selected the extended tests the test hanged at test #7, MATS+ test(Cache Disabled)..i let it run for around 6 hours but it did not progress a bit...in the standard tests of windows memory diagnostic..no errors are reported even at 15 passes..should i test with both the RAM's together in the slots?or are my RAM's ok..?
    these are the error messages i have seen so far--
    1.IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL
    2.SYSTEM_POOL_DETECTED_MEMORY_CORRUPTION
    3.BAD_POOL_CALLER

    Apart from these i also received a 0x0000008e error without any headings like above.
    what can all these mean & how do i solve this problem?:(
     
  2. mt2002

    mt2002

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    919
    What happens if you boot with one stick of RAM at a time? Does it work?

    Currently I am looking at either a kernel mode driver crashing or a RAM issue. I suspect its RAM...
     
  3. sekhar_xxx

    sekhar_xxx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Sorry i forgot to mention this before, i see the following error message too-- PFN_LIST_CORRUPT

    removed the 1gb RAM 7 booted using the 2 gb only..i was trying to use system restore when it restarted again & i saw the following error--

    a driver corrupted pool memory used for holding pages for disk

    STOP: 0x000000DE (0x00000002, 0xE41CB0A8, 0x00000000, 0x497528C6)

    after the system restarted it said that system restore was incomplete..i did not try to run system restore again & used the pc for about an hour(mainly for browsing the net) without facing any BSOD's,then as i was installing Nero-8(kaspersky antivirus was running in the background),the system just hanged & restarted with a BSOD..error message-- IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL,
    there was no other application open when this happened.
    is it wrong to install softwares to the same partition where windows is installed?i have 4 partitions--29gb, & 100gbx3, the 29 gb holds windows xp sp2 but only 8gb is shown as the used space in c: ,should i leave the remaining 21gb as it is or can i install my softwares there?
     
  4. sekhar_xxx

    sekhar_xxx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    thanx for all your help till now...i reinstalled all of my softwares, removed the 1gb RAM stick & ran the PC on the 2gb stick only...errors are less frequent now..but the system still restarts with a BSOD--IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL...i am not getting any other error messages now except this...what could be the problem?
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/756607

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice