1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Please help! Scandisk problem

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by swortega, Oct 15, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. swortega

swortega Thread Starter

Hello! I am on Win ME. Right now my computer is running fine , but I have having a problem with scandisk. When I try to run scandisk I have an error telling me that scandisk cannot continue because another utility has locked the drive. I did some research and found this could be caused by my Norton Systemworks. I found this at http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=286810. Apparently my FAT is messed up...whatever that is. Obviously, I am not very good with these things.

I tried to follow the instructions of the fix, but it didn't work. It just said that my drive was damaged and couldn't repair it. I spoke to Dell support, and they said I just had to reformat my drive & reinstall Windows. I don't want to do that unless that is absolutely necessary( needless to say). A friend suggested I do a dirty install of Windows, but when I try it says there is not enough dedicated memory to do it. I have uninstalled Norton--didn't help. Can anyone help with either fixing the memory thing so I can do the dirty install or tell me something else to do to fix the FAT file? I welcome any suggestion. I do have another computer in the house running ME...could I copy the FAT file from it and replace mine? Help! Please! Please feel free to email me if you have suggestions or need info.
    Thank you!

2. griffinspc

griffinspc

Can you run scandisk in safe mode or at a command prompt and welcome to the board?

3. NiteHawk

NiteHawk