1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Please help urgent! Wireless complications with my laptop.

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by tylerworth, Jan 3, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tylerworth

    tylerworth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    I have a Windows Lenovo laptop; Windows 7. I recently started downloading torrents (television series) and probably because of its excessive use the wireless between my laptop and my router has been a bit laggy and it wasn't able to reach my laptop all the way to my bedroom like it used too. So I kept it close to it and worked fine. However after I got from celebrating new years; in the morning in the room near the router the laptop and wireless failed to connect. I entered an extension cord into my laptop from the router and the internet connects. However the wireless does no longer work. The wireless works with iPods and other computers but not for mine. I'm worried I may have ruined it and I'm clueless as what to do now? Please somebody help me out... be much appreciated :confused:
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you most likely have a virus by using torrents especially if you have been downloading illegal copyright material- most virus/malware comes from torrents

    with out the cable connected and if you connect to the wireless -
    what error message do you get

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Check the wireless is switched ON
    theres often a physical switch or a combination of the FN and one of the F keys to toggle the wireless on/off - is the wireless on?
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    lets see an ipconfig /all and xirrus screen shot

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    This should also work for windows 8
    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/

    if you want to optimise base station position and signal strength / dead spots use
    http://www.chimoosoft.com/products/apgrapher/ which has a graph function to monitor signal
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. tylerworth

    tylerworth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Lenovo-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-82-59-41-41
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11g Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-82-59-41-41
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::a915:95fd:dd9f:9106%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 172.20.10.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.240
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, 2 January 2013 6:12:40 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, 4 January 2013 8:14:50 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 172.20.10.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 172.20.10.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 301999746
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-0A-F3-73-70-5A-B6-5A-3B-27
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.4.182.20
    10.4.81.103
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Fast Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 70-5A-B6-5A-3B-27
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 20:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Reusable ISATAP Interface {EE9B9DF2-A3E8-405B-AD5C-8C8D5F5B76E1}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #15
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Reusable ISATAP Interface {568EC55D-1113-46E0-97B1-CD6500994196}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #18
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Reusable ISATAP Interface {054D3893-6359-44AC-A6C1-B00794EA6D06}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #20
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{C5B2555C-A135-4D7D-B8E8-4AEF98A4C0E6}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #21
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    would you do the following three ping tests - see below - Without the cable connected , as you are showing a wireless connction in that ipconfig .all

    then after posting the ping tests would you then connect with a cable - so that the internet is working and post another ipconfig /all from a cable connected - when working

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> type CMD to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    For Windows 8
    to open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.

    Type the following command
    Ping 172.20.10.1
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. tylerworth

    tylerworth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    my network name is tyler
     

    Attached Files:

  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you will not get a robust connection on that signal @ -83
    you need at least -70 (note the negative) to get a robust signal

    so you will need to make some changes to the position of the router - or router aerial , or the PC location and/or adapter and/or aerial

    just moving the router a few feet can make a lot of difference or if it has an eternal aerial turning by 90degrees

    you could try changing the wireless channel on the router to use channel 11

    has the signal changed recently - anything changed in the location, new furniture - it may also be a sign of an issue with the router if its quite old
     
  7. tylerworth

    tylerworth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    I've attempted connecting the internet with the laptop right next to it in-fact with excellent connectivity and unable still to connect. I've only downloaded three TV seasons and won't be doing so again; any solutions to torrents ruining internet connection perhaps. Sorry for all the fuss and thankyou for you help
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    lets see an xirrus from that PC

    also see my post #4 - and provide tests as requested

    it should not be torrents - but any virus/malware picked up as a result of using torrents - its one of the most common form of virus/malware transfer


    so you have two devices that will not connect by wireless - and both work with cable connections -

    so as not to get confused
    on the PC we discussed and you showed the results for so far
    can you follow my post #4 and provide the ping tests
     
  9. tylerworth

    tylerworth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Lenovo>Ping 172.20.10.1

    Pinging 172.20.10.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    General failure.
    General failure.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 172.20.10.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\Lenovo>

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Lenovo>Ping 209.183.226.152

    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 172.20.10.2: Destination host unreachable.
    Reply from 172.20.10.2: Destination host unreachable.
    Reply from 172.20.10.2: Destination host unreachable.
    Reply from 172.20.10.2: Destination host unreachable.

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

    C:\Users\Lenovo>

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Lenovo>Ping google.com
    Ping request could not find host google.com. Please check the name and try again
    .

    C:\Users\Lenovo>

    I was unconnected to any wireless connections? That's what you wanted me to do whilst doing this...
     
  10. tylerworth

    tylerworth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Only my laptop will not connect wirelessly to my router
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1083520

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice