1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

please help, winsock problem, internet gone

Discussion in 'Networking' started by xtxoxpxd, Aug 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. xtxoxpxd

    xtxoxpxd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    i thought my winsock registry was corrupted, so i followed this link:
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/811259

    and used the manual repair which started with deleting Winsock and Winsock2 in the registry. I followed all the instructions, but after i reinstalled them, my internet still wouldn't work.

    I've tried using netsh winsock reset in cmd. I've tried using netsh int ip reset also. when i do i get..

    "Reseting Echo Requet, failed.
    Access is denied.

    There's no user specified settings to be reset"

    however, i'm pretty sure im in as admin as the top says "Administrator: CMD"

    i am running vista.

    PLEASE help, i feel like i've done everything. Thank you.
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Did you read this at the bottom of the article:
    I don't see Vista in the list.

    I don't know if this will recover you at this point, can't hurt to try.

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2 & Vista.

    For XP, Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt.

    For Vista, Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  3. xtxoxpxd

    xtxoxpxd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    after netsh int ip reset reset.log:

    "Reseting Echo Requet, failed.
    Access is denied.

    There's no user specified settings to be reset"
     
  4. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    What is the problem you are trying to solve?
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Bob, he applied that manual repair for XP to Vista, and now nothing networking works. I think it's time for a repair installation of Vista.
     
  6. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    The "netsh winsock reset" command is the same for Vista as for XP

    That one just posted "netsh int ip reset reset.log" is not the same for Vista as for XP.

    It should be either "netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log" and "netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log".

    Take a look and you can see that the standard response for XP is no longer the same for Vista.
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Correct, I'll fix my script. :)
     
  8. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    xtxoxpxd,

    So back to you.

    Now that we got that straightened out, might try the correct TCP/IP reset command for Vista. Hopefully it will be a lot faster than a repair install of Vista.

    Also what is the symptom you are having in the first place? Is it that you can't connect to the Internet at all or just can't browse from a web browser?

    Can you ping any external sites by IP (e.g. ping 4.2.2.1)
    Can you ping any external sites by Name (e.g. ping www.yahoo.com)
     
  9. xtxoxpxd

    xtxoxpxd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    when i try to connect, it comes up as "limited or no connectivity". i've tried wireless and LAN.

    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231

    netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log...
    Reseting Echo Request, failed.
    Access is denied.

    Resting Interface, OK!
    A reboot is required to complete this action.

    netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log...
    Resting Echo Request, failed.
    Access is denied.

    There's no user specified settings to be reset.


    i'm loggied in as admin in CMD
     
  10. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Getting a description of the problem is very helpful. That's why I asked that first place.

    So you are not even getting IP address information assigned from the router. Is that correct?

    And I'm not sure why the Access Denied error. Is there another account with admin rights you can try this from?
    Can you boot to safe mode and try both the reset commands as well as accessing the Internet.

    And just to confirm, since you have wireless, have you tested at another location. This is just to rule out whether your router is part of the problem.
     
  11. xtxoxpxd

    xtxoxpxd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    i'll try it in safe mode now. i'm 100% sure its not the router since i've been using it for 2 months and only stopped working when i deleted the winsocks. i've also tried other routers around my location, same problems.

    i'm not sure if i'm getting IP info or not. how do i check? when i connect, it says "successfully connected to xxx" but the icon says limited connectivity. i'm sending 27 packets and receiving 0. if i go to details, it hads 169.254.136.202 and 255.255.0.0
     
  12. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    If you are getting a 169.254.136.202 then you are not getting a valid IP address assigned.

    So if it was working, then why did you delete the winsock registry entries in the first place.
     
  13. xtxoxpxd

    xtxoxpxd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    ok i did it in safe mode, now both commands return:

    There's no user specified settings to be reset.

    one of my programs wasn't working and the FAQ brought me to that microsoft site. it clearly wasn't the problem, i realize now, so it was dumb to do that.
     
  14. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    That's exactly what I get as well. So at least we are using the correct command and not getting any error messages.

    Now what happens if you reboot.
     
  15. xtxoxpxd

    xtxoxpxd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    internet still doesn't work.

    thanks for the help thus far bob. it's really looking like i need to reinstall vista.. am i able to repair it or reinstall it to fix the registry but keep my current files?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/604516