1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

please help with mail merge in word

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by ubamous3, Aug 6, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ubamous3

    ubamous3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    543
    i am trying to do a mail merge using the data in excel; i have done mail merge before and never had any problem until today ; but it's an odd problem tho; for some reason, word doesnt read the column for job title, and when i try to play around with the fields, it gives unpredictable and not logical result; i never had this problem before and dont know if anyone else has the same experience

    the format should be

    full name
    job title
    company
    address 1, address 2
    city, state zip

    and for some reason it wouldnt pickup the job title field data, and when i try to put 2 job title fields , it omits the full name!!!,etc.... very weird
     
  2. ubamous3

    ubamous3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    543
    never mind; i got it to work after i split the full name (1 field) to first and last name (2 fields);i dont understand why but i'm glad i found a way to get around it.

    Thanks anyway.
     
  3. Ciera2455

    Ciera2455

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    41
    Just remember that there must be a separate field for each piece of information you need to merge. e.g.

    Company
    Title
    Salutation (Ie.e. Mr. , Mrs., Ms.)
    First Name
    Last Name
    Address 1
    Address 2 (ie.e. Suite #, Apt. #, etc.)
    City
    State
    Postal Code

    Each of these fields can be combined into 1 line but the more fields you have the more you can do with your data, not just mail merge.

    MJ
     
  4. ubamous3

    ubamous3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    543
    thanks mj for responding.

    yes i understand that concept that you mentioned; it does make it easier to manipulate the data if it's broken out as detailed as possible, but i still m curious as to why ms word was acting peculiar, i.e. not showing some fields sometimes and sometimes not showing other fields.
     
  5. Ciera2455

    Ciera2455

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    41
    If your computer is on a network, it can do all kinds of crazy things. I've found that if a program isn't working the way it did perviously, you just need to re-boot and start over.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/153076

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice