1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Please help with message "does not contain enough free space"

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Roy Mayo, Jan 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Roy Mayo

    Roy Mayo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Hi,

    I want to install Win7 64 bit from legal retail MS disc.

    My computer is highly specified 7.4 rated.

    I previously had Win 7 32 bit on it, but have formatted the 37GB SSD partition.

    My difficulty is that I am getting the message below, whether I select the 37 GB partition or any other partition up to 500GB free space.

    " Setup was unable to use the existing system partition because it does not contain the required free space"

    There is very small 100MB partition on the SSD drive, named 'System Reserve' which I did not create, and do not know what it does. Do you think that this is causing the problem?

    Many thaknks,
    Roy Mayo
     
  2. Keywal

    Keywal

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    that partition is set up by Windows itself and cannot be removed and dont worry it cant be viewed when in My Computer.

    do you have any other partitions on the disk?
     
  3. Roy Mayo

    Roy Mayo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Hi, Thank you for your response.

    Yes the SSD is 80 GB size, and there are two partitions on it, approximately half each. The first partition was used for the previous OS and is now formatted. The second partition was used for Games, and is about half full.

    Please continue your quick response:-

    Roy Mayo.
     
  4. Keywal

    Keywal

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    have a look at this.. never mind the arguement in the middle... does this resemble your situation??

    also it seems only to happen when installing XP SP3 and WIN7 64bit
     
  5. Keywal

    Keywal

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    234
  6. Roy Mayo

    Roy Mayo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Hi, and thank you for your response.

    I have read your suggested thread, and find that the post by Lerianis, in the middle, very closely resembles my situation.

    Please advise how I should proceed.

    Never heard of Easeus before, but do I need it now?

    Roy Mayo.
     
  7. Keywal

    Keywal

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    what did you use to partition the drive?
     
  8. Roy Mayo

    Roy Mayo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Hi,

    The partitioning of the new SSD was done a month or so ago. I used the partitioning program available in Windows Storage Manager. (If my terminology is not correct - it is the program I reached from Control Panel > Computer Management - as far as I remember). I did not use a third party partitioning program.

    Thank you
    Roy Mayo.
     
  9. Keywal

    Keywal

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    ok so if it closely resembles your situation then its possible its something to do with the drive itself...

    have not used a SSD yet but i would imagine that it would rely on a different set of rules to disk based drives.

    have you tried completely formatting the SSD and installing???

    does this give you the error?

    its worth a go and another interesting point i found on some web sites is... when windows is installing it unpacks the whole installation to the disk then puts the image on the rest... therefore even if you have enough room for the installation you might not have enough room for both!
     
  10. Palmer Thongwa

    Palmer Thongwa

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Hi,

    Thsnks to all who responded. I appreciate your good intentions, but no one had a specific solution.

    I hope that this reply is seen as I am using another computer.

    Due to the subject problem I have not been able to use my main computer till now.

    Anyway, I solved the problem, by remembering what I used to do many years ago.

    I removed everything except one HDD, the video card, mouse and keyboard. Put the install DVD in, and booted up. When the time for designating the installation partition came up, I formatted the drive and installed clean.

    Now I am busy reconnecting everything (one at a time) and reinstalling everything, (one at a time).

    A drastic solution, but there are advantages. I now have a 'clean slate' to write on what I really,really want to.

    Roy Mayo.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/893099

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice