1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Please Help with password save on dial-up connection

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by shoff, Jan 27, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. shoff

    shoff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 1999
    Messages:
    153
    This is really a terrible annoyance! Anyone who can help??
    PLEASE

    I was having some problems with fuzzy icons and distorted desktop, so I restored my Windows98 from CD.
    Everything seems to work fine now, except that my password won't save in my dial-up or outlook express.
    I renamed my name.pwl and restarted my puter.
    That doesn't help.
    I tried to use Tweak UI to fix problem, no help.
    I tried to put password into Tools Internet Connections Settings (save password) no help.
    Anyone know what I can try next?
    I'm stymied.

    Packard Bell AMD K6 2
    Windows 98
    Outlook Express 6
    IE 6.0.26

    Thanks
     
  2. jwbirdsong

    jwbirdsong

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    710
  3. NotRite²

    NotRite²

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    507
    Am curious if you did a "dirty" reinstall or clean...I ran into this not long ago and the dirty install did not work.....had to format and reinstall.

    I think I read your ? correctly.....that this is NOT just in OE but on your dial up connection box as well.


    Good Luck
     
  4. shoff

    shoff Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 1999
    Messages:
    153
    Okay
    I am able to save my OE password now, but no matter what I do, I can't seem to get my dial up connection to save password.
    I have created a new dial up
    still won't save
    Now what?

    Thanks

    PS this is in Windows 98
     
  5. Bryan

    Bryan

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1999
    Messages:
    11,943
    First Name:
    Bryan
    The first thing to check on is to see if your being logged into Windows properly.

    On the StartMenu, do you see an entry for "LogOff" and if so, does it list a UserName next to it or does it just say "LogOff" with no UserName next to it?
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/115656

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice