1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Please Help!!

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by dsh316, Apr 24, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dsh316

dsh316 Thread Starter

Hello all,
    I am selling my laptop w/ Window 95 and was wondering how I go about wiping it out clean as though it was fresh out of the box on day one?? Can anyone help??
    -dave

2. Pat C

Pat C

Hi,
    I'm not an expert but I'm sure if I give you wrong advice someone will quickly pop in to correct me. :)

---Hi,
    You can do 2 things...

1) Low level format of the hard disk drive so that everything on the disk is erased and it is back to the original factory state!

Or

2) Use Fdisk to delete all the partitions. Check here->
    http://www.computerhope.com/sfdisk1.htm ---

3. Pat C

Pat C

4. starwaves77

starwaves77

5. LONGHAIR

LONGHAIR

The first thing you must do is be sure that you have the proper drivers for this computer saved to a disc. You will need them when you re-install Windows. Next be sure that you have your Windows Disc(s) and the product key to install it with. Do you have real Windows discs or just a restore disc from the manufacturer? Is this a brand name laptop (Compaq, etc) that may have a restore partition? If so, utilities like "killdisk" will destroy that too!

6. starwaves77

starwaves77

Longhair your right! Excellent point,

Now that I've read that again, it does not look like they intended to reinstall windows again. . .but just wanted to pull out their 'personal' software additions,

Dsh316, if that's what you want, (you won't reinstall) here's another way to actually clean it to factory specs:

Restore the registry to it's original 'first boot' creation using System.1st, to the day that your windows version first booted up,