Please help!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

starjade

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 14, 2004
Messages
28
Recently whenever I am surfing the Internet, a message pops up and lets me know that Internet Explorer needs to be shut down. It gives me 2 options, one is to send error message and the other is to not. Either choice I make, it wil close the screen I am viewing. Microsoft then prompt me and click on a hyperlink that will explain the error. When this screen comes up, it says that they don't know the cause of the error but advises me to go to www.smartpops.com/customersvc.

This problem happens everytime I am on the Internet. The operating system that I am running on is Window XP. Thanking advance for anyone's help with this matter.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
534
You will never receive an unsolicited message from Microsoft!!!

You apparently have picked up a piece of spyware. Download and run Ad-aware and Spybot for starters. Install a firewall and anti-virus software if you do not have them already. LOL
 

starjade

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 14, 2004
Messages
28
Where should I go to download Ad-ware. I usually go to www.download.com, however there are so many types of ad-ware. I don't know which one to choose?

Please help!
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2004
Messages
310
Howdy Starjade, go to http://lavasoft.com for Adaware and Spybot you can get from downloads.com or ZDNet or do a google search and using "spyware" it will give you several sites to download from. I regularly get that message as well and just send error report then restart IE. Seems to happen a lot with IE6 for some reason. Happens at Tech too, so I'm not unduly worried.I also run WinPatrol, which tells you if someone is trying to install spyware into your startup list. I run NOD32 and ZoneAlarmPro.Hope this helps.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2003
Messages
425
Internet Explorer is full of so many problems...I think its better to quit it and jus use Mozilla which is better
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2004
Messages
2,187
either browser you use, download spyware blaster also[below link]. I use mozilla now too--IE you can still use to pick up your MS updates.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top