1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Please insert a writable disc in drive E:

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by eperreaux, Nov 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. eperreaux

    eperreaux Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    I am trying to copy photos to a CD-R disc so I can go to WalMart and make prints.
    I however get the following message :"Please insert a writable disc in drive E:" and can not copy photos to disc. I tried several different types of photos, with the same result.
    I did manage to copy photos to a CD-RW disc but the printer at WalMart refuses to use this type of disc.
    Any ideas.

    Ed
     
  2. kimsland

    kimsland

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,102
    What program are you using to create the CD / DVD ?

    In Windows just open "My Computer" Open your writable CD Drive (should be blank)
    Drag and drop (just copies shortcuts) photos up to :
    700Meg for CD (CD Writer required)
    4.7 Gig for DVD (DVD R/W required)
     
  3. eperreaux

    eperreaux Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    I was using Win XP "copy these files to disc "
    Since then I tried Nero and succeeded in burning to a CD-R disc. Hope Walmart agrees.
    Thanks again.
     
  4. eperreaux

    eperreaux Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    It worked. Problem solved by Nero. Don't know how to do the drag and drop.
     
  5. kimsland

    kimsland

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,102
    OK it suddenly worked, usually means that the computer was or is working to hard to write these files (unless bad CD)

    Firstly I'd remove all temp files including all the ones in Start- Run - %temp%
    Then Defrag, yes this may help if it's mostly in the red
    And also notify on how much ram you have (Right click on "My Computer" will tell you).

    Otherwise just mark the thread as closed.
     
  6. eperreaux

    eperreaux Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Thread hereby closed and resolved
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/651609