1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Please Post Steps For Burning CD's (For Dummies!)

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Jack1000, Sep 17, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jack1000

Jack1000 Thread Starter

Hey Guys,

I have Windows 98, and unfortunately, I got my computer before CD-Rom burning became such a standard in this industry. Next month or so, I am going to be getting a CD burner, so I was wondering: I am a newbie on CD Burners/Burning, hence the thread's title! LOL!

1. Are there limits as to what kinds of data I can and can not burn?

2. What are the general steps for burning a CD?

3. How long does it take to burn a CD?

Also, someone is sending me some MP3 audio on CD Rom. Do you think I will be able to play that on Real Player 8?

Also, if any of you have tips or tricks regarding this topic, please post! Thank You!

Jack

2. GwizJoe

GwizJoe

Answers...
    1.No,there are pretty much no limits to the type of data that can be burned to a CD,except of course,files to large to fit,or copy-right protected data that prevents the "ripping".Basically,if it can be saved to a hard-drive,it can be burned to a CD.

2.The steps for burning depend largely on the software used,but copying a CD usually goes like this:
    1-rip: takes the info from a CD and saves it to the hard-drive
    2-burn:takes the info from the hard-drive and copies it to a CD
    Or...,a "direct burn":from one CD-Rom,info is read and cached in small amounts and the cache is used by the CD-RW to write it to a CD.This sometimes is faster,but can incur more errors.

3.The length of time depends on the amount of data being written,speed of the write(configured by you in the software),and any additional testing that the software does of the burn.

And...