1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Please someone kill me

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by AAPlus, Feb 21, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. AAPlus

    AAPlus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    277
    Hey,TSG

    It's been a long time away from you all i need you pros
    to help me with this problem i had a try at the Suse 9.0
    Live CD & i liked it so much that i went out & got me the

    Suse 9.0 Personal

    Now the Installing with great i can boot to suse & use
    passwords & all works great but for the love of god i
    can not Partiton my 20GB HD when i do a reboot i see
    the options to go to Linux/WinXP-Home & so on but

    so i would like to know can i goto WinXP & use
    PartitonMagic to do the work for me then see
    if i can Reinstall Suse now have reinstalled WinXP
    like 7 times so far or is there a way to just install

    Suse & forget XP i don't need it running on this
    Laptop at all & if i do just install Suse will i be able
    to Partiton it so i have say 3 of them if so please
    till me how in gods name do i go about doing it

    Thank you :(
     
  2. Whiteskin

    Whiteskin

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,964
    Boot into linux, go cfdisk, or just fdisk, and delete the fat32/ntfs partion.That will get rid of XP.

    EDIT: Or, use a low level format util, to format the drive.
     
  3. AAPlus

    AAPlus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    277
    Hello,Whiteskin

    First thanks for taking the time to reply/help me
    now i am new to this Linux now do i do this as
    a user or as the Admins also how do i get there

    from run ???? & if i do this will it remove all
    of XP & once i do this will i have all of the HD
    back well i will hold till i hear from you on this

    Good luck :rolleyes:
     
  4. Whiteskin

    Whiteskin

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,964
    From the terminal, and yes, as root. It will wipe the xp partition, which you could then mmount as your home dir, and have an entire partition for your home dir.

    If you do that ,let me know, and i will guide you through it.
     
  5. AAPlus

    AAPlus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    277
    Hi,Whiteskin

    Thanks yes i need all the help you can give me hehe
    now what is a terminal or where is it alos how do i
    get to root or should i say Admins sorry like i said new
    at this but i will try if you give me the help i need

    Thank you :D
     
  6. Whiteskin

    Whiteskin

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,964
    You need to run it either from the terminal in suse linux (fdisk, or cfdisk), or from a windows boot disk (fdisk only). Once you have wiped the partition, you could either reinstal suse, or you could simply use the new free space as a bigger home directory. If you reinstall, you dont need my help, if you want to do it as a bigger home directory, then just ask, and i will help.
     
  7. AAPlus

    AAPlus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    277
    Hey,Whiteskin

    Ok here is what i found till me if this is
    what i was to look for or am i way off here
    if i could i would like to remove XP & just

    go with Suse then will i be able to Partiton
    the HD so i can save programs / files & so on

    have a look i have no idea

    linux:~ # fdisk

    Usage: fdisk [-l] [-b SSZ] [-u] device
    E.g.: fdisk /dev/hda (for the first IDE disk)
    or: fdisk /dev/sdc (for the third SCSI disk)
    or: fdisk /dev/eda (for the first PS/2 ESDI drive)
    or: fdisk /dev/rd/c0d0 or: fdisk /dev/ida/c0d0 (for RAID devices)
    ...
    linux:~ #


    Thank you :(
     
  8. Whiteskin

    Whiteskin

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,964
  9. AAPlus

    AAPlus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    277
    Hi,Whiteskin

    Yes i did cfdisk & i deleted the ntfs partiton
    but each time i do a reboot XP comes back
    what am i doing wrong here also the other
    2 Linux partitons do not have that boot is

    this ok well i will hold till i hear from you

    Thank you :(
     
  10. Whiteskin

    Whiteskin

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,964
    Does it fully boot XP? If so, then i dont think you are writing out the changes in cfdisk, or if it doesnt, then XP has over written your master boot record (MBR). You need to install lilo into your MBR to boot linux. Take a look here <http://tldp.org/HOWTO/LILO.html> under the "Background Information and Standard Installation" section. Or, you can do this from the SuSe install, but i'm not sure how, as i dont actually use Suse. Again, it may be prudent to download a disk wipe utility from your drive manufacture's site, and low level format the disk.

    Maxtor <http://www.maxtor.com/en/support/downloads/index.htm> has one for example, but try finding the one for your specific drive. The way they work, is you place the utility onto a bootable windows floppy, boot off the floppy and run the program, which will rewrite all of your drive with 0s. This will ensure there is nothing left to bother the Suse Installation.

    Way to go on wanting to get the XP virus off your computer. ;)
     
  11. AAPlus

    AAPlus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    277
    Hey,Whiteskin

    Well i just went for it & deleted that pain it the
    hmmm XP now i can boot right to Suse love it
    but i hope i did everything right so have a look

    as you will see i used Suse as the boot not sure
    if i should have done this now how do i move the
    Free Space to my new friend :D Suse :rolleyes:


    cfdisk 2.11z

    Disk Drive: /dev/hda
    Size: 10056130560 bytes, 10.0 GB
    Heads: 255 Sectors per Track: 63 Cylinders: 1222

    Name Flags Part Type FS Type [Label] Size (MB)
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Pri/Log Free Space 7443.88
    hda2 Boot Primary Linux swap 320.79
    hda3 Primary Linux ReiserFS 2286.63









    [ Help ] [ New ] [ Print ] [ Quit ] [ Units ]
    [ Write ]
    Illegal command
    Print help screen


    Thank you (y)
     
  12. Whiteskin

    Whiteskin

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,964
    ok, so the way that this would be eaisest to do, for now at least, would be just to reinstall the enitre system. However, the other way would be to temporarily copy your /home dir somwhere for backup, then format that free space, then mount that new free space (hda1?) to /home and copy your home dir back there. Then, you will have all that free space as a home directory.
     
  13. AAPlus

    AAPlus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    277
    Hi,Whiteskin

    Ok i will reinstall Suse but how do i just put in
    the disk & it will reinstall by it self or do i need
    some type of boot disk

    oh something i forgot to ask why did Suse
    come with 3 Disk but when i have installed
    it only ask me for 2 ????

    Thank you :D
     
  14. Whiteskin

    Whiteskin

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,964
    3rd disk is moste likely some of the more "Esoteric" utilities and programs that suse provides. after deleting all the partitions the way you did before (from boot disk), just install the same way you did before, and let suse take all the disk. Then you are done :) Congrats on sticking with it and sticking with linux!
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/205684