Plug a cable into the n etwork adapter "local area connection"

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Brandon1203

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 2, 2012
Messages
12
hello. i recently got a new desktop computer from my brother and i had to reformat it, so it had no drivers, so after reformat i had no connection to internet, and after a diagnostic it said ""realtek RTL8102E/8103E Family PCI-E fast Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.0) wasnt there, so i downloaded it, now my windows vista computer has a "realtek RTL8102E/8103E Family PCI-E fast Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.0)" and the new error i get is
plug a cable into the network adapter "local area connection"
but i know it's plugged in because if i use the other computer and plug the wires in the same place, i have internet!
PLEASE HELP!
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
can you post a screen shot of device manager
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Device Manager
Post back the results in device manager
You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the screen shot and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

how to access device manager for different windows versions
http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

Hold the Windows key and press Pause key, should open to allow device manager to be seen

on a laptop you may need to use Hold the Windows key and press FN key + the pause key

if this does not work then -

Windows 7 or Vista
Click on the Start Orb
In the Start Search box type
device manager and then press enter

-------------------

Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
windows 7
start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager


network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
are there any ! ? or X


post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

To post a screen shot of the active window.
1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
OR
2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

flavallee

Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,316
First Name
Frank
According to your screenshot of the Device Manager, you also need to install the driver for the display adapter.

What's the brand name and model name and model number of that computer?

-------------------------------------------------------
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
see flavallee post above
have you installed the display driver
and provide the make and model as requested
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2012
Messages
39
I'm not sure why you would want to install a display driver to fix the physical network connection. If I was installing that, I would only want to get the network connection running, so I can download all the other drivers directly and don't have to run around with an USB Stick.

Back to the initial post: I've had the same problem before. You can probably fix it by going to your network connection manager, deactivate that connection then reactivate it again. Unfortunately I am on a german Windows 7, so I am unable to post the exact steps for you.
 

Brandon1203

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 2, 2012
Messages
12
According to your screenshot of the Device Manager, you also need to install the driver for the display adapter.

What's the brand name and model name and model number of that computer?

-------------------------------------------------------
it is a Dell, Inspiron. & by model name im not really sure what you mean
 

Brandon1203

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 2, 2012
Messages
12
I'm not sure why you would want to install a display driver to fix the physical network connection. If I was installing that, I would only want to get the network connection running, so I can download all the other drivers directly and don't have to run around with an USB Stick.

Back to the initial post: I've had the same problem before. You can probably fix it by going to your network connection manager, deactivate that connection then reactivate it again. Unfortunately I am on a german Windows 7, so I am unable to post the exact steps for you.
yes that's exactly what im trying to do, im only looking for what i need to get my internet started so i can download the rest of the drivers. but unfortunately im not the best with computers and i don't really know what drivers i need, i went to the dell site and downloaded the network adapter for my service tag number thing & it still doesnt work :(
 

flavallee

Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,316
First Name
Frank
You say it's a Dell Inspiron (brand name and model name), but you don't know the model number?

What's the 7-character service tag number on the sticker?

----------------------------------------------------------

Is it running Windows Vista 32-bit or 64-bit?

----------------------------------------------------------
 

flavallee

Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,316
First Name
Frank
According to service tag number 8XN06J1, your computer is a Dell Inspiron 546S desktop and came with Windows Vista 32-bit installed.

Here is the driver for the Realtek RTL81xx PCI-E Network Connection.

----------------------------------------------
 

flavallee

Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,316
First Name
Frank
Go back to the Device Manager, then double-click Standard VGA Graphics Adapter to open its properties window.

Click the "Details" tab, then select "Hardware Ids".

There will be one or more strings that have VEN_####&DEV_#### as part of it.

Advise what the numbers and letters are that follow VEN_ and DEV_

Or submit a screenshot of it.

Those codes will identify the display device so the correct driver can be obtained for it.

-----------------------------------------------------
 

Brandon1203

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 2, 2012
Messages
12
PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9610&SUBSYS_02E21028&REV_00
PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9610&SUBSYS_02E21028
PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9610&CC_030000
PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9610&CC_0300

those are all i saw for "hardware ids"
 

flavallee

Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,316
First Name
Frank
PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9610&SUBSYS_02E21028&REV_00
PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9610&SUBSYS_02E21028
PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9610&CC_030000
PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9610&CC_0300

those are all i saw for "hardware ids"
Chip Number: RS780

Chip Description: ATI Radeon HD 3200 Graphics


Here is the driver for it.

--------------------------------------------------------
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top