1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Plug a cable into the network adapter "Local Area Connection" Error - Lost internet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by rlsantore, Sep 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rlsantore

    rlsantore Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    I have an HP a6600f Intel Pentium Dual CPU 64 bit operating system with a NVIDIA nForce Ethernet card and Netgear Wireless-G Router for the Toshiba laptop. My internet connection has been working just fine on BOTH computers. Recently, JUST THE HP will not connect to the internet saying "plug a cable into the network adapter local area connection". I have tried various repairs to diagnose where the issue is occurring and think it might be something to do with an HP update that may have messed something up or a driver issue?!?! After taking the router out of the loop, trying a new ethernet cable, etc...I'm thinking either drivers, port or card?!?! I have Windows Vista and have searched various forums and tried several "solutions" to no avail. Any ideas?!?! I am communicating thru my laptop's internet connection so I am limited to the "Diagnose&Repair" options on my HP (with NO INTERNET CONNECTION).

    -ruled out router issue
    -tried different ethernet cords
    -researched error in System Diagnostics Report (Microsoft 6to4 adapter is reporting "tv_configMgrErr31")
    -unchecked ipv6 internet protocol
    -several restarts
    -Network Sharing Center - checked properties of "local area connection"

    Desktop:
    OS Version: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium , Service Pack 2, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel Pentium Dual CPU E2200 @ 2.2 GHz
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 3.0 GB RAM
    Hard Drives: C: Free - 72% 210476 MB
    Antivirus: Norton 360, Enabled, Some updates recently failed due to loss of internet connection

    C:\Users\Robbi\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu>IPCONFIG/ALL
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Robbi-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce 10/100 Mbps Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-68-03-55-AA
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{EDD7762A-4484-4E11-B5DD-8941532B0
    891}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{EDD7762A-4484-4E11-B5DD-8941532B0
    891}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
    Thanks in advance for any assistance offered!!! :D Robbi
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Well, the NIC may have given up and died, it does happen. Did you try a system restore to before the issue occurred?
     
  3. rlsantore

    rlsantore Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Hi JohnWill and No I didn't do anything "new" at all....the internet just simply stopped working one day?!?! I figured it was just a matter of reseting my modemn or restarting the puter but days later, I'm still baffled?!
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Did you try a system restore?
     
  5. rlsantore

    rlsantore Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    No I did not. How do I do that?!?
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
  7. rlsantore

    rlsantore Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Hi there JohnWill. OK, system restore done & internet is still not working with same frustrating error. I looked at any security updates that recently failed and any programs recently installed to see if they might be the culprits. "Security Update for Microsoft Works 9 (KB2092914) failed 4 times. Downloaded and installed successfully. "Compatibility Pack for the 2007 Office System" was installed on 8/17/10...any chance that may be the culprit????

    At this point I'm wondering if the properties to my "Local Area Connection" set up by Comcast got changed or lost?!?! Do you think it would be worth calling them to check the ISP stuff????

    Thanks again for your time!!!! :D
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    I doubt it's the Office update.

    It sounds like your network adapter may have a problem. You have another computer that works, right? Try the cable and router port you're using for this one to make sure it's not something outside the computer.
     
  9. rlsantore

    rlsantore Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Yeah, the laptop works when connected directly to the modem. Network adapter? Is there a solution?
     
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    If you've reloaded the drivers, it looks like the NIC may have a problem on that machine. The cable and router port are good, you're running out of possibilities. :)
     
  11. rlsantore

    rlsantore Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Hi there AGAIN JohnWill!
    When I click on the network adapter properties, it says the drivers are up to date??? Then again, the computer cannot connect to the internet to automatically search for updated drivers so....how would it know and how would you suggest finding them (i.e. reloading them)?

    PS. If the NIC has a problem only on my desktop, could it be something to do with the "Local Area Connection" properties set by my ISP????
     
  12. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    You download the drivers from a working machine and move them to the failing machine using removable media.
     
  13. rlsantore

    rlsantore Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Hi JohnWill: So if I have a NVIDAA nForce 10/100 Mbps ethernet card and Microsoft 6to4 adapter, where do I find the most recent drivers? Normally my puter would just automatically search internet and update if necessary.
     
  14. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Forget the 6to4 driver, that's part of the TCP/IP stack.

    You get the Ethernet drivers from the computer manufacturer for built-in network adapters.
     
  15. rlsantore

    rlsantore Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    I tried to download network driver update and it would not download saying drivers are up to date?! (sp43203.exe -nVidia nForce network driver update resolves an issue with the computer not being able to connect to a network (Version:67.8.9.0 (17 Jun 2009))

    Under Device Manager, when I expand the Network Adapters section and check the device status, the Nvidia nForce 10/100 Mbps Ethernet says it is working properly and drivers are up to date. The driver date is 5/21/08, version 67.8.3.1. The 6to4 adapter says not working properly b/c cannot load the drivers required for this device (code 31). I already went thru all the recommened fixes for this issue and agree, should just forget it.

    I am confused between chipset drivers, controller drivers, graphic drivers, etc on HP's website. I've searched drivers for the adapter type, the computer model, built-in adapter drivers.......?!?!?!?

    Do you think this is the correct driver?
    http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&swItem=wk-46835-1&jumpid=reg_R1002_USEN
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/949907