1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Plug guitar into PC?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jream, Sep 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jream

    jream Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    Im looking for something to go in a 5.25" Bay that allows me to plug in
    my guitar jack to the PC. I have no clue where this would be or where to look for it.

    Or can i simply buy an adapter for the guitar jack to mic jack, or would that lose tons
    of quality?

    anyone ever done this before? and do ya use any guitar software you can recommend :)
     
  2. seekermeister

    seekermeister

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,140
    The only thing that I can tell you is that when I had my keyboard, it plugged into the PC through the gameport. But that ran through midi. I don't know if you have a regular amplified guitar (In which case, I wouldn't know as much as you), or a midi acoustic. If the latter, I think that it would plug in similarly to the keyboard.
     
  3. Kinnaird

    Kinnaird

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    You have to buy something like a Line6 Guitar port to plug your guitar into your computer. I recommend the Line 6 Toneport. It comes with software for recording too, and it's not that expensive. Do a search on google. Good luck.
     
  4. fenderjaguar

    fenderjaguar

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    362
    you can just buy adaptors to put it in the mic input on your sound card. and no, it doesn't lose any quality, imo

    [​IMG]

    oh, and just use a free recorder, like audacity
     
  5. kidcnote

    kidcnote Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,738
  6. jream

    jream Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    That is what I want, where in the world do you find that?
    I cant find anything on google or ebay.

    I may go with that line6 thing but id rather have this :)
     
  7. kidcnote

    kidcnote Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,738
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    I suspect that you may not be happy with the guitar plugged into the mic jack, I'd be researching a real pre-amp, perhaps like suggested in post #3.
     
  9. seekermeister

    seekermeister

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,140
    I don't know about jream, but I would go with the jack that fenderjaguar posted, because I'm not an performing or professional musician. I don't know if it would work, but the only reason that I would attach a guitar to my PC is to be able to use it with something like Cakewalk, for compositional purposes.
     
  10. jream

    jream Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    You guys find stuff good, I swear I loko all over the place and cant find a thing :(

    Fender: If you plug that into the mic, does it record as if it had no amp plugged in? Or can you use software to fix that? It seems too simple to me
     
  11. kidcnote

    kidcnote Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,738
    On my SB X-Fi card, you get software and could use the adapter to plug straight into the card and record http://img8.imagepile.net/img8/10012stereo.jpg directly to the HD. As far as quality, I'm not sure as I haven't done it but if it doesn't sound pretty good with an X-Fi and running the audio through BOSE speakers, then it ain't gonna sound good period and your next bet would be the Line 6 set up..
    But this should work for ya if you want to play your guitar and record/mix ect ect..
    (Audio Creation Mode
    For Pristine Audio Recording Quality
    Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic offers high quality, feature-rich recording.
    Utilizing the Creative X-Fi Xtreme Fidelity audio processor, you'll get the most advanced features and effects of any audio processor for music and audio creation currently available)
     
  12. jream

    jream Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    is that the fatal1ty one? if so that thing was awesome :)
     
  13. kidcnote

    kidcnote Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,738
    Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic (y) Theres tons of software that comes with it.. Takes your gaming audio to a whole new level.. http://img8.imagepile.net/img8/6804555.soundblaster.jpg

    http://img8.imagepile.net/img8/7141756e.x-fimodeswitcher.jpg

    http://img8.imagepile.net/img8/8167757.soundblasterx-fi.jpg

    http://img2.imagepile.net/img2/2940556f.x-fidvdplayer.jpg

    http://img2.imagepile.net/img2/8355756h.creativekaraokeplayer.jpg

    http://www.soundblaster.com/products/product.asp?category=1&subcategory=208&product=14066

    http://www.xpcgear.com/xtrememusic.html

    On-Board Connectivity

    FlexiJack (Performing a 3-in-1 function, Digital I/O1 / Line In / Microphone) via 3.50mm mini jack
    Line level out (Front / Rear / Side / Center / Subwoofer) via 3.50mm mini jacks
    AUX_IN line-level analog input via 4-pin Molex connector on card
    One AD_Link (26 pin) connector for linking to the X-Fi I/O Console (upgrade option)
     
  14. fenderjaguar

    fenderjaguar

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    362
    to be honest with you, you'd be best off just micing your guitar amp up
     
  15. MysticEyes

    MysticEyes Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,825
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/497947