Plug in hard drive

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

meVixen

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 9, 2017
Messages
4
Hello

I'm not very good at computer hardware but decided to try to move a hard drive from my old computer to a new one. After examining everything I have 2 questions (sorry for possibly stupid questions).

There are no brackets (not sure that's the correct word) that could hold it up in the housing. The computer came with one set, but they are way too small, and the old computer's are too big to fit in the new housing. Is it a problem to keep the hard drive loose (diagonally) inside the housing (aside from if you're physically moving the computer around of course)?

The, from what I understand power supply, in the old computer has 1 yellow, 1 red, 2 black and 1 orange cable, but the new computer's only available cable doesn't have any orange. Is this a problem? I've read in some places that the orange one often isn't used by the hard drive.

Thanks a lot!
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,436
1st
what are your trying to achieve by using this drive in the new pc

heres the info on the molex connector and the "orange" wire, often not required
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Serial_ATA#Power_connectors

I use a USB convertor , so that I can copy data off of hardrives for people onto new PCs
which i have used with about 30 different drives, and it does not have a orange wire
 

meVixen

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 9, 2017
Messages
4
The computer only came with a smaller drive, which isn't big enough for me (videos, games, etc.). I thought I'd save money by reusing the drive from the older computer.

(Oh and sorry about the double thread, I'm not sure how that happened o_O)
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,436
so long as you are planning to re-install windows and all the programs
You wont be able to plug the drive in to the new PC and use it with windows pre-installed,it may possible boot and work, but will be very unreliable
for a number of reasons,
1) all the drivers will be different , unless its an identical PC
2) The windows license if for the "old" pc and not for the new hardware

do you have the windows software or a recovery drive for he NEW pc ?

if all you want is storage for videos. music etc , then you can use it as a second drive in the new PC
 

meVixen

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 9, 2017
Messages
4
The drive that came with the PC has windows installed and working. I just want to use the old drive as storage, as a second drive (it was just used as storage for games in the old computer too).
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,436
what size is the drive in the new PC - they are usually quite large these days 1TB common
or is the new PC harddrive split (partitioned) as a C: and a D: drive ?

you can put into the new pc as a storage - just check you are not validating your warranty

you could do as noyb posted - just add as a usb drive - get a case for the drive and then copy all the data
I'm not sure any saved game info is going to work , as thats saved as part of the program and now the program will be on a new PC , so not sure how game saving info is formatted/configured
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,057
How big is the HDD in the new computer ????
Maybe this isn’t a project were you want to save a few bucks ... it might cost you later.

Anytime I get a new computer, I replace the original OEM HDD with a better one ..
clone the original to the new ..
Then save the original HDD as a backup in a desk drawer.

I like the Western Digital Black series HDDs .. They have a 5 year warranty.
I don't like having all my eggs in one basket :D ... 1TB is big enough for me
If you might need external storage ....
I like this External Enclosure .. (not many have a front panel power switch)
 
Last edited:
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top