1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Plug in hard drive

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by meVixen, Feb 9, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. meVixen

meVixen Thread Starter

Hello

I'm not very good at computer hardware but decided to try to move a hard drive from my old computer to a new one. After examining everything I have 2 questions (sorry for possibly stupid questions).

There are no brackets (not sure that's the correct word) that could hold it up in the housing. The computer came with one set, but they are way too small, and the old computer's are too big to fit in the new housing. Is it a problem to keep the hard drive loose (diagonally) inside the housing (aside from if you're physically moving the computer around of course)?

The, from what I understand power supply, in the old computer has 1 yellow, 1 red, 2 black and 1 orange cable, but the new computer's only available cable doesn't have any orange. Is this a problem? I've read in some places that the orange one often isn't used by the hard drive.

Thanks a lot!

2. etaf

etaf Moderator

First Name:
    Wayne
    1st
    what are your trying to achieve by using this drive in the new pc

heres the info on the molex connector and the "orange" wire, often not required
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Serial_ATA#Power_connectors

I use a USB convertor , so that I can copy data off of hardrives for people onto new PCs
    which i have used with about 30 different drives, and it does not have a orange wire

3. meVixen

meVixen Thread Starter

The computer only came with a smaller drive, which isn't big enough for me (videos, games, etc.). I thought I'd save money by reusing the drive from the older computer.

(Oh and sorry about the double thread, I'm not sure how that happened o_O)