1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Plug Ins for Irfanview

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by jood, May 27, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jood

    jood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    507
    First Name:
    Judy
    A lot of my *.jpg docs on desktop are not showing the normal icon, only irfanview, some I can open, some I can't. The message is

    C:\Users/owner/Desktop\Eaglehawk Bowling Cl;ub in --do ;
    Can't read file header!

    Unknown file format, empty/damaged file or not found!
    (for unicode file names please activate the Unicode Plugin in 'Properties->Languages')

    I dont know how to do this.

    Actually, it has just occurred to me, that all these Irfanview icons are actually documents, not pictures, but when I open them, they open in Irfanview instead of Docs. Hmmm

    Can someone help please? There are only two Word documents actually showing on desktop, but they open in Word or try to but the screen is just blank.

    I'm using Firefox and windows 7

    I now have noticed that when I have an http address in an email (for instance) - -it will not open, I have to manually copy it to the browser :(
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2015
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,356
    First Name:
    Wayne
    got to windows expoler
    Desktop
    and show the files extension - post that back here

    Organize>
    folder and search options>
    View TAB
    uncheck - "hide extension for known file types"

    Then you may need to associate that file type to the correct program
    control panel>
    in the search bar - put
    associate
    Folder Options >
    there you can change the file type associated with a program
     
  3. jood

    jood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    507
    First Name:
    Judy
    Sorry, Wyne, I can't understand that - I went into Windows explorer and to desktop - dont know where file extensions are, so can't send anything :( Could not follow the other steps either.

    I can tell you tho, that on desktop - the file folder type shows doc, but they have an irfanview icon - I can't open them up either with windows explorer or irfanview.

    Still having trouble with http addresses not going to a new window (from emails), I have to physically copy it and paste in browser. Not sure if this problem is related.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,356
    First Name:
    Wayne
    doc is an older version of word
    do you have office 2007/10/13 on the PC at all
    do you have any files called
    docx ?
    if you click on one of the doc files
    then right click
    you should see "open with"
    you may then be able to choose to open with word ?
     
  5. jood

    jood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    507
    First Name:
    Judy
    I have office word 2003 and 2010, but prefer to use the 2003 version.
    Of course I can right click and "open with word" and it works, but the point is, the icon is irfanview, when it should be W

    That would take forever to do, i mean you shouldnt have to open it like that.
     
  6. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,966
    First Name:
    Jay
    In Irfanview, go to Tools >> Extensions ... and choose Images Only >> OK
    Then Right Click on a Word.doc set the default "Open With" for Doc files.

    Have you installed the Irfanview "All Plugins" ?????
     

    Attached Files:

    • 11.jpg
      11.jpg
      File size:
      203.4 KB
      Views:
      18
    • 22.gif
      22.gif
      File size:
      33.7 KB
      Views:
      27
    Last edited: May 27, 2015
  7. jood

    jood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    507
    First Name:
    Judy
    Jay I dont have that window you showed, but I uninstalled Irfanview and then reinstalled a new copy, making sure I only checked "Images only". I also installed Irfanview plugins.

    The situation now is that the said Irfanview icons have now changed to Word, as I used "Open with" and chose word 2003 (it was already checked anyway) - BUT - when I click on these said icons (W), the page is completely empty - every one of them.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,356
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you dont , I just wanted to check if it was a word document - doing it this way is safer as you can then choose to set the program as default

    However, it sounds like you now have all the correct associations for docs set
     
  9. jood

    jood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    507
    First Name:
    Judy
    See last message - the icons have changed back to Word, but the documents when loaded, are all empty :(
     
  10. jood

    jood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    507
    First Name:
    Judy
    I have now managed to open them with Word 2010 (which I dont like) - Word 2003 must be corrupt - is there any way I can check?

    Strange tho, I can open a new Word 2003 which is open and ready to type, but just can't open any previous docs in Word 2003
     
  11. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    19,100
    First Name:
    Liz
    Do you have extensions showing?
    It could be that all the old doc files, converted to docx and now want to open in 2010 instead of 2003.

    Find something that refuses to open. Open Word 2003 then click on file, open and select that doc/docx. Does 2003 open it now?
     
  12. jood

    jood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    507
    First Name:
    Judy
    I have DOC showing if that is what you mean.
    All the docs open now, but still only in Word 2010. If I try to open them in 2003 - the page is greyed out. When it is in 2010 format, I dont get the option to "open" - it just shows "edit", yet when its in 2003 format I can "open" it, even tho it wont show anything.

    I have noticed that in 2003 format, the words DOC TO docx was there, a program apparently. I have since deleted it, but it has made no difference to the situation.
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,356
    First Name:
    Wayne
    would you attach one of the documents here please
     
  14. jood

    jood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    507
    First Name:
    Judy
    I presume you wanted a document in word 2010 (which all of them are now)

    I must say last night I was using my notebook, and had a similar problem, the docs would open in 2010 and not 2003???
     

    Attached Files:

  15. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,301
    First Name:
    David
    When trying to use Word 2003, just what steps are being used to open these blank files?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1148887

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice