1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Plugging coaxial cable into LCD Monitor/PC

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Krondroak, Jan 24, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Krondroak

    Krondroak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Hye guys, got a quicik question to ask...

    I just moved back up to school and I just didn't feel lik lugging my TV all the way here. Didn't think I'd miss watching it.

    Its been 12 hours and I need a TV again haha

    So...

    I have cable through my coaxial running into my room, but the only video output device I have is my LCD monitor that has both DVI and D-SUB inputs. I also belive my motherboard has an RCA video IN as well.

    Basically, I wan't to be able to watch TV on my monitor/computer.

    Any help would be great :)

    thanks!:D
     
  2. dr911

    dr911

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    311
    Hey Krondroak,
    Let me be the 1st to welcome you to TGF !! Does your PC have a "TV Turner" card in it ?
     
  3. Krondroak

    Krondroak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    No It doesn't....hmm...hahah....Where would I be able to get a cheap one ?
     
  4. Yorkshire Guy

    Yorkshire Guy

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Messages:
    563
    Hi Krondroak,

    I'm not sure where you are, or if this is allowed - Moderators I hope this doesn't break the rules.

    If in the UK, Ebuyer sell a cracking USB device that gives you FreeView on your PC / Laptop, under £40. A collegue has one and is very pleased with it, incredibale for the size, even with the small aerial.

    http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/prod...2hvd19wcm9kdWN0X292ZXJ2aWV3&product_uid=94486


    lol
    Hew
     
  5. gotrootdude

    gotrootdude

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    8,812
    I'd recommend this
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16815100129

    or
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814122221

    for cheapness and decent quality.

    But, for the best Tivo-like experience, I'd suggest getting this.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16815116625
    or
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16815117702

    For and even better Tivo-like experience, get a MCE remote, of a Firefly remote, and use MediaPortal software, BeyondTV, SageTV, MythTV, etc, software.
    Here's a link to one of my favorite HTPC programs:
    http://www.team-mediaportal.com/

    If you plan on using Windows Media Center Edition, substitute the MCE model of the PVR-150 for the one above.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16815116631
     
  6. Krondroak

    Krondroak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    3
  7. gotrootdude

    gotrootdude

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    8,812
    Make sure you go to ftp://ftp1.kworld.com.tw/ and download the newest drivers for the card after you get it.


    That USB device looks good, and works with MediaPortal, I may get one to experiment with. Pretty cheap for a digital terrestrial broadcast solution. Looks great for portability.

    On a desktop, you'd probably be better off with a Dvico fusion card, so you have the option of QAM unencrypted cable channels. Guess the only way to find out is to buy one and try it.
     
  8. gotrootdude

    gotrootdude

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    8,812
    I corrected the ftp address for kworld. It works now. IT'S REALLY FIXED THIS TIME!

    Kworld seems to have switched ftp sites, the one that shows on a google search doesn't work.
     
  9. gotrootdude

    gotrootdude

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    8,812
    Guess the USB device is out of the question for me, doesn't work in the U.S..

    U.S. uses ATSC, not DVB-t.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/436750

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice