Solved PNF: Not mangling function names right

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

des000

I am working on modifying my computer language, Portable Numbers Format (PNF). I want to add a concept of functions to the language. It already has a concept of subroutines. Subroutines cannot be overloaded. Functions are supposed to be able to be overloaded.

There are 5 basic types in this language. VOID, BOOLEAN, NUMBER, CHARACTER and STRING. A function signature is as follows:

Code:
ret1, [ret2, ret...] funcname(param1, [param2, param...])
You see, it's pretty much like a C++ function signature, except it includes the return type and there can be multiple return values.

I studied how C++ accomplishes function overloading, and based the concept off of how that works. I mangle() the names and can also unmangle() the names. So a function that returns a STRING, and has no parameters named "a", would mangle as:

Code:
a_rSTRING_VOID
The problem appears to be that the name mangling is not sticking for all functions. What could be wrong? I checked for needing to return a reference, and don't believe that this is the cause. I could give more details upon being needed. Thanks!

des000

Problem #1 solved. The function stack; Function_Stack::itsstk was being built wrong. Arrays start at 0. It was building it by first insert()ing an index, and then storing the data for add_function(). I think now it's better with it only adding before if the length() is != 1, and insert()ing afterward if length() is == 1. Except for upon reviewing, I would say that initially it adds too much. I will need to rethink this algorithm again.

des000

This may fix problem #2, which is that it isn't executing all functions.

des000

Okay. Now I definitely have problem #1 solved. Problem #1 is that the Function_Stack (itsstk) isn't being built right.

des000