1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

pointing device interface error

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by gordonmac, Feb 10, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. gordonmac

    gordonmac Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    morning folks............win98.unable to move mouse,have tried every thing that several manuals suggest,but it still wont shift.would appreciate any suggestions.
    i found the comment pointing device interface error on the start up screen,not even sure if it means anything to do with mouse.many thanks
     
  2. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Seems that you need a new mouse.
     
  3. gordonmac

    gordonmac Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    its beyond that
     
  4. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Have you tried using another mouse. The error message is just indicating that there is an error in the mouse interface. Most of the time is due to a malfunctioning Mouse.
     
  5. gordonmac

    gordonmac Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    yes i have.i have also used every way out of it via the platinum win95 book and several dummies books.
     
  6. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Is either the Mouse Node connection in the Main Board or a setting in the BIOS. Have you been able to enter the BIOS setup utility and check the Pointing Device setting?
     
  7. gordonmac

    gordonmac Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    sorry,should have said win98.yes i've managed to get into bios,but as to getting the right section of it i;m not sure.
    i came across what i thought was right and there was no setting at all for the port/2,so i upped it to 5 as was the keyboard setting,but still nothing.
    many thanks
     
  8. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/328812

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice