Polarized fuse

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ekim68

Mike
Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 8, 2003
Messages
57,253
I just ran into this on a board repair...A fuse that's like a diode....Apparently with two different power supply's, batteries and adapter, there has to be a fail-safe in case one or the other fails...And, the other lives on...Typical surface mount..
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
A diode with a limited current rating will act as a polarized fuse, kind of... :)
 

cwwozniak

Chuck
Moderator
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
68,760
A diode with a limited current rating will act as a polarized fuse, kind of... :)
Murphy's Law: Any semiconductor device connected in series with a fast acting fuse will blow first, thereby protecting the fuse. :eek:
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
If you've decided that the fuse is definitely (or probably) the thing you need to replace, I doubt you're going to find one easily or at all. You may as well replace it with a fuse and diode in series. That should work just as well (barring any space problems, but it can't be that tight, can it?).

Any markings on the component or board to indicate polarity direction?
 

ekim68

Mike
Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 8, 2003
Messages
57,253
Actually Elvandil it's an interesting looking thing... I'll take a picture and try to post it tomorrow.....
But the problem is resolved....Seems the fuse rested on several traces and did a couple of things.
One of them was charging the battery with a continuous voltage of 5.5....The other trace carried the 9 volts to the main operation...The battery pack was bad, so it might have had an effect on the fuse to cause it to blow. I removed the cable from the battery terminal because the user said they didn't use the battery at all.
I installed a pico-fuse, sp., with the correct rating and everything is working....
(BTW, I don't usually do board repairs anymore because the surface mounted components are so small and just the presence of a soldering iron will make them shrink in terror.)
But, this was a friend's machine and I had to take a look....;)
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
LOL. Good work. Surface-mount is not fun to work on. I was modding a scanner and had a resistor stick to my iron. I had to use a sewing needle to get it off and was sure it was burned out, but put it on the board, anyway. It worked, but that is the last time I ever attempted work on a $700 device with my gigantic (seemingly) hands. :D
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
With the correct tools, most surface mount products are not that hard to work on. The only stuff I don't tackle anymore are the really fine pitch components like processors and support chips. There are just too many pins that are too close together. :) Resistors and caps are pretty easy as a rule, and small logic chips only slightly more difficult.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top