Pop-up Blocking question

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

JustMe2

Crystal
Thread Starter
Joined
May 31, 2001
Messages
1,047
Question...I would like to install a popup stopper. But which one? Free is great! Don't really get a lot of popups, like some people that I've seen posting here. The ones that I do get just annoy me.
And...I am on a home network, accessing the net via a shared cable modem hooked up to a router. Am I going to have to make any specific settings once I download one?
JustMe2
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2000
Messages
275
Pop Up Stopper is great. Easy to set up with no problems down the line that I have met.


I think they also have a free version.

Good luck
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2000
Messages
352
You might consider POW! by www.analogx.com. It is freeware and simple to use. Have been using it for some time. Pop up Stopper also works great but you have to press keys to get popup windows on the screen that your software may pop up.

I use POW! since it only elimates the popups you tell it too.
 

JustMe2

Crystal
Thread Starter
Joined
May 31, 2001
Messages
1,047
Thanks all!
Downloaded both of them and will try them out. See which one co-habitates nicely with the firewall, router, etc...
Much appreciated!
JustMe2
 
Joined
May 11, 2002
Messages
174
IMO FreeSurfer is by far the best one. It has a multitude of extra options and does an amazing job even on the low setting (natural mode)
Havent seen a popup in months :)
For some reason it hasnt been getting a lot of attention... Oh well I still like it.

Edit: Oh yeah, I forgot to mention, its free!
 

JustMe2

Crystal
Thread Starter
Joined
May 31, 2001
Messages
1,047
MORE to choose from!
This should be interesting...as I'm a lousy one for making decisions.
Thanks everyone!
JustMe2
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2002
Messages
1,716
I'm using AdSubtractPro daisy chained with Proxomitron. And MyIE browser with auto popup filter. Might be overkill...lol
 

JustMe2

Crystal
Thread Starter
Joined
May 31, 2001
Messages
1,047
Tried Proxomitron. Followed the directions on the web site, and the next day, I couldn't access the net through my router. Probably did something wrong, who knows with me lately!
Right now I'm trying Pop-UP Stopper. Mybe I"ll give it the real test and go to webring. That'll probably blow it up.
JustMe2
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top