1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

pop3 info always dissapears

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Gino_CT, Jan 17, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Gino_CT

    Gino_CT Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    20
    I have a problem on my internet connection.

    I am using Outlook Express 6, and almost every time I go to collect my mail, I have to re-type my "pop3" connection information and it has changed to "localhost", and also changed my account info.

    Is this a windows problem or may I have a virus??
     
  2. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    Are you using norton anti virus. that changes the pop to local host

    Derek
     
  3. Gino_CT

    Gino_CT Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    20
    No I don't have Nortons running on my machine.

    Could there be any other reason?
     
  4. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    What anti virus software are you using as it's normally an anti virus software that does this. it's something setting up a proxy on your machine to filter incoming mail before it's sent to your mailbox. It must be some program you have downloaded

    if you post your settings that it has changed to blanking out your account name if you wish we can tell which program is doing this

    other causes can be mailwasher or some pop up window stoppers

    it's very rare that a virus changes your incoming mail settings

    Derek
     
  5. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    What antivirus are you using? Several of them change your email settings. If you change it back, you may be defeating the AV protection. I would check with my AV vendor for a fix. You might find it under FAQ at their site.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - pop3 info always
  1. lynx1021
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    498
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/113699

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice