port probs

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Sazuki Metho

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 22, 2005
Messages
37
i just recently built my computer, but it refuses to acknowledge that it has a Ethernet port on it. the port is built onto the intel motherboard and the thing just doesnt realise that its there. should i buy a netowrking card or is this a software problem? (ive never built a computer before this one)
 

Rukee

Banned
Joined
Nov 15, 2005
Messages
961
the drivers for it should be on the motherboard install CD, did you install all the drivers on the included install CD??
 

Sazuki Metho

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 22, 2005
Messages
37
well that another thing, was i supposed to install that before i installed windows? the cd i got with the motherboard had some programs on it, but when i try to install them the computer reboots. someone told me that this was a windows software problem
 

Rukee

Banned
Joined
Nov 15, 2005
Messages
961
after a reformat, you install windows first, then the motherboard chipset drivers, LAN and sound drivers, DirrectX9.0C, and the video drivers. The computer may reboot itself durring the install of some drivers, depending on how the driver CD install is set up, but if the computer crashs and reboots durring the install, that`s another thing.
 

Sazuki Metho

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 22, 2005
Messages
37
it doesnt "crash" per say, it just reboots without loading it. i just loaded up musicmatch and it got to 100% and rebooted. musicmatch isnt installed though.
 

Rukee

Banned
Joined
Nov 15, 2005
Messages
961
have you install the motherboard chipset drivers?? DirrectX9.0c?
 

Sazuki Metho

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 22, 2005
Messages
37
yes i did manage to get directx installed without a shutdown, and a thing called LAN desktop manager. i have an ehternet cord hooked to the computer but it still cant tell it has one
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
Unless you install all of the motherboard chipset drivers, very little will work correctly and the ethernet will not be recognised.

If you are getting "reboots" for no reason when loading some software, it indicates a problem in the computer hardware, most likely faulty RAM.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top