1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Portable Hard Drive Unreadable

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Julieanna, Jul 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Julieanna

Julieanna Thread Starter

Hi. Does anyone know what might make a second hard drive (for a Toshiba laptop computer)
    unreadable? I moved from the Czech Republic to Poland recently, and noticed that my portable hard drive is apparently "empty" of all data. I know that's not possible, because it was working fine before I left Czech and there's a lot of stuff on it.

Basically I have all my course material for the past 10 years stored on this portable drive! (I am a history professor). I certainly did not delete anything, so where could all of my data have disappeared to?

I went to a firm in Warsaw an they told me it would cost me $1,300 to recover my data using their
    company! However a computer science major here in Debrcen told me that date rcovery from them would be there are data recovery programs on the web that can help me rescue my data.

If you can offer me any pointers on type of proble, I would surely appreciate it! :)

Thank you in advance for your help!

Julieanna

2. father-brown

father-brown

Julieanna,

I am sorry to hear you are having problems with a hard drive! Anything involving data can be extremely stressful. Unfortunately, I know first hand how difficult it can be.

Here are some things recommended to me by others that have really helped.

First, make an image of the problem hard drive. You can use the Free Clonezilla (if you are a techie) or Easus Todo Backup (also free). To make a complete copy of the drive. That way, if you do something wrong when you are using another program to recover the files you can go back to where you started.