Solved Possible conflict between Firefox 66.0.2 and Gmail??

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Johnny b

John
Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 6, 2016
Messages
7,109
OS is Xenialpup 7.5 64bit.
I boot from DVD and USB flash drives.
Same software configurations and used on the same computer, a Lenovo Thinkcentre M2
I5 3.2 ghz, 8 gb memory. No hard drive.

The only difference is the version of Firefox between the DVD and the 2 separate USB installs. The extensions are the same and updated to today.
The DVD install has FF version 65.0.1
The USB FF versions are 66.0.2 One is a Sandisk, the other a Kanguru with a 'write' switch.

Other than updates, no sessions are saved, no cookies, no history....at all. Ever.
Anything saved of interest is done to a different USB flash drive.

Only one web site is affected and it's my Google Gmail.

Up until yesterday, no issues with Gmail other than it is slow with 2step varification.
But since yesterday, the USB versions of FF do not load 2 of the pages completely and one of them seems missing a lot.

The DVD install with a slightly older version of FF loads properly as it has in the past.

Below are the pages of interest.

First the DVD results:


1.jpg
5.jpg

Now the USB flash drive results:
The next image is obviously different.
Notice the red arrow in the last image. I had to mouse over the shadow to get at a popup window to close Gmail. (The red box covers my email address)


2.jpg
7.jpg

Anyone experienced this upgrading Firefox to v 66?
Any suggestions?

Let me repeat.....no problems with any other web sites other than Google Gmail.
 

AmyToo

Amy
Joined
Sep 22, 2017
Messages
390
Question was about Gmail and Firefox 66. Works fine on Windows 10.

Can't get my mouse to work with Puppy Linux in a VM.

Might have to wait for someone running Puppy Linux on hardware to answer the question about Puppy Linux, Firefox 66, and Gmail. :)
 

Johnny b

John
Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 6, 2016
Messages
7,109
Question was about Gmail and Firefox 66. Works fine on Windows 10.

Can't get my mouse to work with Puppy Linux in a VM.

Might have to wait for someone running Puppy Linux on hardware to answer the question about Puppy Linux, Firefox 66, and Gmail. :)

I'm NOT using Windows :D
There are minor differences between the versions for Windows and Linux.
That's why I specified I was using Linux :)
Thanks any way :)

For me, it appears to be something in the FF version updates that's different causing a problem. And I suspect it might be specific to Linux users.
One is dll insertion has been enabled in V66 ( not in the Linux version apparently ) and something else to do with blocking links that track through HTML pinging ( ? ).

I don't see anything standing out in 'preferences' that's different, though.

I haven't used a VM in a while, I'm sorry I can't help with your mouse issue.


Probably have to wait for an updated version with out the problem :D
 

AmyToo

Amy
Joined
Sep 22, 2017
Messages
390
I spun up an Ubuntu VM.
Firefox 66.0.2
No problems with Gmail.
It looks like you have several extensions installed. What happens if you remove them?
 

Johnny b

John
Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 6, 2016
Messages
7,109
I spun up an Ubuntu VM.
Firefox 66.0.2
No problems with Gmail.
It looks like you have several extensions installed. What happens if you remove them?
I disabled them one at a time, but it made no change. Same situation.

But I did update the DVD to FF 66.0.2 and the Gmail pages worked properly.

So, I have no idea what's going on.
Next step, I'll remove the extensions one at a time and see what happens.


Bionicpup is out. I'm going to install to another flash drive and see what happens.
But that's for another day.

I'll stay on the DVD in the mean time.
 

Johnny b

John
Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 6, 2016
Messages
7,109
It took an actual deletion of an extension to find the problem.
The culprit was the Malwarebytes browser extension.
Merely disabling it had no result.

But Google's Gmail now functions as it's supposed too :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top