1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Possible GPU Problem?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Dracious, Jan 15, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Dracious

Dracious Thread Starter

I have been having these issues for a while but due to limited time and money (im a student at University) I have been putting off this issue for a while, however it has recently got even more problematic in the past couple of days. I am pretty competent with computers, however I'm not very good with hardware or fixing them.

The problem started with my monitors going black and not receiving any output from my computer. Sometimes the audio would continue to work both ways, e.g if im in a skype call when it crashes I can still communicate with people, yet other times the audio would just be in a very small loop. Sometimes once the screen went off I would still be able to control my computer for a while (i tend to check this by pressing the caps lock key and seeing if the light changes on my keyboard, i dont know if this is reliable or not) however alt tabbing or ctrlaltdeling would cause the computer to fully crash behind the dead screens.

At first this was very uncommon to happen, I had done no recent changes to my computer hardware or software wise and had no idea what could have caused it besides possibly the graphics card since the screens stopped getting output from the pc?