1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Possible problem with Graphics Card update and display. Help needed.

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by thewall, May 14, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. thewall

    thewall Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    148
    Hi folks...

    I've recently resolved a virus infection on my Toshiba laptop,
    but when finished with that process and Windows 7 updates
    took place... it seems that something happened to mess up
    the graphics display.

    The model number of the Toshiba is: Satellite A665-S6050.

    I've tried a few things to troubleshoot the situation, but still
    the problem remains.

    The Display is now: 1. Generic PnP Monitor on Standard VGA Graphics Adapter
    and the Resolution: 1024X768

    The only other option is an 800X600 resolution and that does not help at all.

    It's been suggested that I post this problem here in hopes that someone might have a solution.
    ___________________________________________________
    12-May-2015, 10:52 AM #85
    That may be a problem with a Graphics card update.
    Your machine appears clean of malware right now.
    I would post about it in the Windows 7 forum here.
    Top menu > Operating Systems > Windows 7
    The helpers over there are better at solving that kind of issue.
    ___________________________________________________

    Any ideas, or known fix would be great. I'd really love to get this back to normal.

    Thanks in advance for any aid that can be offered.
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,707
    First Name:
    Frank
    Toshiba Satellite A665-S6050 Laptop (PSAW0U-01100G)
    You should add and save this site in your browser's favorites/bookmarks list so you can quickly refer to it when needed.

    According to its "Manuals & Specs - Detailed Specs" section, it originally came with Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit.
    It has a 16" widescreen display with a native resolution of 1366 X 768 and has Intel HD graphics.

    If you click "Drivers & Updates" and then click "Display" and then click "Windows 7 (64bit)", the list of display drivers will appear.
    The topmost Intel driver (version 8.15.10.2281) is what you probably need to download and save and then install.

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. thewall

    thewall Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    148
    Hi flavallee...
    I greatly appreciate your reply to my message.

    I will follow your suggestion right away and let
    you know how things go.

    Thanks!
     
  4. thewall

    thewall Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    148
    Back again...

    Ok, after following your instructions and starting the install
    of the correct driver... I got the following error message:

    _________________________________________________
    Error

    An error occurred while registering one or more components.

    Setup will exit.
    _________________________________________________

    The are no suggestions (that I can find) to tell me how to go on
    from here, so I'm going to rely on your experience again.

    Thanks in advance...
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,707
    First Name:
    Frank
    We don't know how infected your computer was and how the infection was resolved, so it's possible the Windows operating system got damaged during the disinfecting process.

    1024 X 768 and 800 X 600 are resolution settings for a standard screen and not for a wide screen, so I'm guessing your display looks "fat" and "stretched".
    Without the Intel driver installed, the graphics device is going to run in VGA mode and display the resolutions you have.
    You may need to do a clean reinstall of the Windows operating system and get a fresh start.

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. thewall

    thewall Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    148
    I had the infection taken care of during the interactions at this 'TechGuy' link below:

    http://forums.techguy.org/virus-other-malware-removal/1138622-infection-trojan-unable-remove.html



    Yes... you are right about how the display looks now. It's fat and stretched.

    Is there anything I can do that's less drastic than a 'redo' of the OS?

    Again... thanks so far.
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,707
    First Name:
    Frank
    That thread dragged on for over 5 months (12/03/2014 - 05/08/2015).
    It's 6 pages long and would take over an hour to read it in its entirety, so I'm not going to do that.

    I'm not there to look at and poke around that laptop, so I don't know what else to advise you. :confused:

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. thewall

    thewall Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    148
    Well... Ok.

    I hoped it would be a less drastic fix.
    Guess I'm just stuck with it in 'fat-mode' then.


    Anyway...
    Thanks for trying.
     
  9. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    37,042
    Hiya

    Just having a read of some threads and saw this one. I sometimes have issues with my laptop, but that one is Vista, but its normally when installing an update from Microsoft.

    If you go to Control Panel | Programs and Features. On the left pane, click on View Installed Updates.

    Wait for them to all load in (green bar will move along at top of screen), then look for the column that says Installed On and click it so that they're sorted into date order. If that column isn't there, right-click on the row where the other names are, and you can select it from the list.

    Now, can you remember what date they were installed on, the updates? If so, look for that date. I do remember last week around that time there was a big chunk to install.

    I think a lot were for Office, so ignore those ones, and look for the Microsoft Windows ones (see screenshot):


    http://i128.photobucket.com/albums/p197/eddie5659a/update_zpsgumc96yk.jpg

    If you can grab a screenshot, that would be great, or if yours is like mine, let me know. It may be one conflicting.

    I know with my Vista, I get a desktop that looks like Win2000, uninstall an update, and it works again. Then it installs later on, and its fine :)

    Thanks

    eddie
     
  10. thewall

    thewall Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    148
    Hi Eddie...

    Thanks for the reply. I really appreciate any help I can get trying to get this laptop back
    the way it used to function.

    I will try the suggestions and see what happens. I'll post back what I discover, but I'm not
    positive how quickly I'll be able to get to it as this weekend is sure to be an extremely busy
    one for me.

    I should be able to look back over what I've done and figure out when the Windows updates
    actually took place. If I do... would you like me to post those dates to this thread?
    Just wondering...

    In any case... I really do appreciate you sharing your thoughts. It helps a lot to feel like I'm
    not totally by myself when attempting to get this Toshiba back to normal.

    Again... thanks! (y)
     
  11. thewall

    thewall Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    148
    Hi Eddie...

    I did a quick check as you suggested and I found that of the 252 Windows updates that have occurred...
    about half of them occurred after May 5, 2015, with the vast majority of those having taken place on May 8th.

    As a side note: I seem to be having trouble using the "END" key on my laptop to create the screen shot of
    all of the Win updates. Do you have any suggestions, or directions I might follow? Any help is appreciated. :eek:

    Thanks again for your time and effort, Eddie. :)
     
  12. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    37,042
    For the screenshot, have you tried the PrtScrn button, so that it grabs a screenshot, and you can copy/paste to Paint, and go from there?

    If you have a PhotoBucket account, you can upload and post links here. If not, you should be able to attach in your reply:

    Click on the Go Advanced button for the uploading options at the bottom of this page (in the picture below ;) ) [/list]

    [​IMG]

    • In there, at the bottom, click on the button Manage Attachments (in the picture below ;) .
    • A window will appear, and then Browse to The screenshot you did on your Desktop (or Pictures etc)
    • Click Upload, and when uploaded click Close this Window
    • Then, in the previous window, click on Submit Reply

    [​IMG]



    I'll also going to have a read up on the other thread you had, see if anything stands out
     
  13. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    37,042
    Just re-reading the last post in the other thread. They time it changed to the wrong resolution, was it after the updates? The reason I ask is that post 78, you said its finished and back to Desktop, which normally means that the reboot went okay, but then I'm guessing that a day or so later on reboot, it went weird.

    I have to go out in a few mins, but will look at this when back. It looks like its driver related, so will have a dig around for what may have caused it etc :)
     
  14. thewall

    thewall Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    148
    Hi,

    Just had a few minutes to check in here! Thanks for the thoughts after looking at the other thread.

    I went back and looked at it too and I think you are right about the time that things went wrong.
    __________________________________________________________________
    09-May-2015, 08:30 AM #84

    Last night everything seemed to be running fine... and then...
    early this morning after the laptop had been booted up... a lot had changed.

    The display was much larger (some images off the screen large).
    Google Earth would no longer function (due to a graphics hardware/DirectX problem)
    apparently. The machine ran super slowly and windows (opened at the desktop) were
    taking 5 to ten minutes to open.
    I finally had to force shut down on all of the programs with Task Manager, because it
    reported that none were responding.
    Even Task Manager did not run at anything close to usual speed. Shutting things down
    took about a half hour.

    I tried to figure out what was wrong, and even uninstalled the Google Earth program.
    That did not help either.

    Any thoughts as to what might be happening? When we last communicated... things did
    seem pretty good. Wondering what happened to mess everything up again.

    ______________________________________________________________________

    I have tried a few times to fix/replace the display driver, but so far... no luck.

    BTW... still not able to get the Print Screen key to copy to the paint application, but I will
    continue to work on it. I'll check back later. Bye for now... and thanks!
     
  15. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    37,042
    Okay, lets work on the fact its the driver. Now, we could use the restore points, but the only restore point you will have is when you ran the last tool on the cleanups (DelFix), as that clears the old and creates a new one. This is normal, as the older restore points may have entries related to the infections that you had.

    So, we can do that, but lets also have a look at that driver first.

    Go to Control Panel | System. On the left pane, select Device Manager. Expand the Display Adapters by clicking the > next to it. I know its the Toshiba Satellite A665-S6050 Laptop, but what does it say the card etc say? For instance, my pc shows mine as Nvidia Geforce GTX 760.

    Then, right-click on the name , and select Properties. Click on the Driver tab. What is the date and version of the driver?

    As for the Print Screen key, if you press it when you have a window etc open, then start Paint, and then in the left corner, the icon will say Paste. Click on that and it should paste.

    If not, we can look at that later on. We'll try and sort the graphics out first ;)

    eddie
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1148211

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice