Solved Possible psu issue

yesnonotyes

Thread Starter
Joined
May 9, 2021
Messages
8
Recently my computer has just been going to a black screen and making a weird noise and i have to completely turn off the computer and restart it to fix it. It only does it when it is under any amount of load, and it makes the computer nearly entirely useless. I have recently moved and before I moved this was not an issue so it might possibly be the power outlets of the new house although I have tried quite a few outlets and the problem still continues
 

yesnonotyes

Thread Starter
Joined
May 9, 2021
Messages
8
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.9
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit, Build 19042, Installed 20210427125341.000000-240
Processor: AMD Ryzen 5 2600 Six-Core Processor, AMD64 Family 23 Model 8 Stepping 2, CPU Count: 12
Total Physical RAM: 16 GB
Graphics Card: Radeon RX 590 Series
Hard Drives: C: 914 GB (96 GB Free); D: 15 GB (1 GB Free); E: 465 GB (180 GB Free); T: 1862 GB (1434 GB Free);
Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. PRIME X570-P, ver Rev X.0x, s/n 190856858601627
System: American Megatrends Inc., ver ALASKA - 1072009, s/n System Serial Number
Antivirus: Windows Defender, Enabled and Updated
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,341
Check that the ram, drives and graphics card are all fully into their sockets on the motherboard, it's possible they became loose during your move to the new house. Also check the Cpu heatsink is positioned correctly.

What power supply is in that PC ?
 

yesnonotyes

Thread Starter
Joined
May 9, 2021
Messages
8
Will check that they are in their sockets in a bit, but the PSU is a 600w Thermaltake
 

Gr3iz

Mark
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
113,545
It's often best to remove and reseat the components and connectors. Be sure the power is off/unplugged first, and the power drained (hold the power switch several seconds with the power unplugged).
 

yesnonotyes

Thread Starter
Joined
May 9, 2021
Messages
8
I forgot to add this, but it has gradually been getting worse, shutting itself down under less load then before
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,820
What are your temps and voltages; specifically cpu temp, 12V, 5V, and 3.3V values? Here is a link to the support page for your motherboard;
PRIME X570-P|Motherboards|ASUS USA
Download and install the asus suite which should have monitoring software [usually called dual intelligent processors] Post screenshots of the monitoring program both under a normal load and while running a stress test. Use prime95 or Realbench for the stress test. Let the test run for at least two min to stabilize temps/voltages.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,820
The 5V and 3.3V rails are a little low; not terrible however IF they drop further under a load, you probably have your answer.
 

yesnonotyes

Thread Starter
Joined
May 9, 2021
Messages
8
1620663614432.png
yeah they did drop a bit more under load, this was in the highest load point of the test
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top