Possible virus

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

alamal

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2000
Messages
834
My neighbor's pc may have a virus. He's been online without antivirus and now I am trying to download Panda antivirus. As I get to the end of the download it gives me a window that says the download couldn't be completed so I had to start all over again. Same thing happened. Isn't this a characteristic of a virus...not being able to run a scan?

He has a Dell with Windows ME PIII.

How can I identify the virus or even the presence of one if I can't scan his system?
Thanks for the help,
Peter
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Messages
2,773
HI alamal - do this on his machine


If you post your startup list we may be able to spot something

Please post your startup list by doing the following :-

Please go here and download startuplist 1.5 :-

http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/startuplist15.zip

Download to any folder or your desktop
Unzip the zipfile
Double click the exe file
go to Edit - select all - copy - and paste the results in a new post here


steam
 

alamal

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2000
Messages
834
Here what he's running Steam and hey, thanks!!!


StartupList report, 1/13/2003, 11:17:19 AM
StartupList version: 1.50
Started from : C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\TD_0001.DIR\STARTUPLIST.EXE
Detected: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
Detected: Internet Explorer v5.50 SP1 (5.50.4522.1800)
* Using default options
==================================================

Running processes:

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WINKHWN.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MSNDELL\MSNCOREFILES\MSN6.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MESSENGER\MSMSGS.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\TD_0001.DIR\STARTUPLIST.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

Listing of startup folders:

Shell folders Startup:
[C:\WINDOWS\STARTUP]
EPSON BACKGROUND MONITOR.LNK = C:\ESM2\STMS.EXE

User shell folders Startup:
[C:\WINDOWS\STARTUP]
EPSON BACKGROUND MONITOR.LNK = C:\ESM2\STMS.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

Winkhwn = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\Winkhwn.exe
MSConfigReminder = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\msconfig.exe /reminder

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

MSMSGS = "C:\PROGRAM FILES\MESSENGER\MSMSGS.EXE" /background

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Active Setup stub paths:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components
(* = disabled by HKCU twin)

[{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4395}] *
StubPath = regsvr32.exe /s /n /i:U shell32.dll

[>PerUser_MSN_Clean] *
StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\msnmgsr1.exe

[PerUser_LinkBar_URLs] *
StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\sulfnbk.exe /L

[{44BBA840-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}] *
StubPath = "C:\PROGRA~1\OUTLOO~1\setup50.exe" /APP:OE /CALLER:IE50 /user /install

[{7790769C-0471-11d2-AF11-00C04FA35D02}] *
StubPath = "C:\PROGRA~1\OUTLOO~1\setup50.exe" /APP:WAB /CALLER:IE50 /user /install

[^RNA] *
StubPath = rundll rnasetup.dll,installoptionalcomponent rna

[{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4383}] *
StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ie4uinit.exe

[{9EF0045A-CDD9-438e-95E6-02B9AFEC8E11}] *
StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\updcrl.exe -e -u C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\verisignpub1.crl

--------------------------------------------------

Load/Run keys from C:\WINDOWS\WIN.INI:

load=
run=

--------------------------------------------------

Shell & screensaver key from C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM.INI:

Shell=Explorer.exe
SCRNSAVE.EXE=
drivers=mmsystem.dll power.drv

--------------------------------------------------

Checking for EXPLORER.EXE instances:

C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.exe: PRESENT!

C:\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\System\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\System32\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\Command\Explorer.exe: not present

--------------------------------------------------

C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
(Created 12/1/2003, 16:58:58)

[Rename]
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\VCCLEA~1.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

SET CLASSPATH=C:\Program Files\PhotoDeluxe 2.0\AdobeConnectables
SET windir=C:\WINDOWS
SET winbootdir=C:\WINDOWS
SET COMSPEC=C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM
SET PATH=C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND;"C:\Program Files\Dell\Resolution Assistant\Common\bin"
SET PROMPT=$p$g
SET TEMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
SET TMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP

--------------------------------------------------

C:\WINDOWS\WINSTART.BAT listing:

@C:\WINDOWS\tmpcpyis.bat

--------------------------------------------------

C:\WINDOWS\DOSSTART.BAT listing:

@echo off
REM
REM
LH C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~8\MOUSE\MOUSE.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

Checking for superhidden extensions:

.lnk: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
.pif: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
.exe: not hidden
.com: not hidden
.bat: not hidden
.hta: not hidden
.scr: not hidden
.shs: HIDDEN!
.shb: HIDDEN!
.vbs: not hidden
.vbe: not hidden
.wsh: not hidden
.scf: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: NO!)
.url: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
.js: not hidden
.jse: not hidden

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

(no name) - c:\windows\downloaded program files\googletoolbar_en_1.1.66-deleon.dll - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7}

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

Tune-up Application Start.job
Maintenance-Defragment programs.job
Maintenance-ScanDisk.job
Maintenance-Disk cleanup.job
PCHealth Scheduler for Data Collection.job

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Download Program Files:

[Shockwave Flash Object]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX
CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

[{2C38A62E-D257-40E8-8BB7-5624E38FEB0A}]
CODEBASE = http://62.52.93.252/bigbozo8912/access.cab

[{11111111-1111-1111-1111-111111111111}]
CODEBASE = http://usa-download.nocreditcard.com/download/newdial-erp/2936/dialer.exe

[MSN Money Charting]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\INV12.OCX
CODEBASE = http://fdl.msn.com/public/investor/v12/invinstl.exe

[ActiveScan Installer Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\ASINST.DLL
CODEBASE = http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/as/asinst.cab

--------------------------------------------------
End of report, 6,506 bytes
Report generated in 1.301 seconds

Command line options:
/verbose - to add additional info on each section
/complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
/force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
/forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
/forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
/history - to list version history only
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Messages
2,773
Hi alamal

It's the KLEZ virus - hang around while I or someone else finds the removal tool for you

Once you have got rid of the virus you will need to run spybot - I see other problems in your startup

steam
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Except for your Klez infection:

Winkhwn = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\Winkhwn.exe

... it looks like a pretty clean startup, of couse we don't know what is Unchecked in msconfig; so when you get Klez removed, you should re-enable what is there and post another startuplog.

Here is a removal tool from Symantec; it is supposed to detect and remove most versions. It MUST be run in Safe Mode. Be sure to follow the instructions appropriate for WinME. System Restore must be disabled before running.

http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/w32.klez.removal.tool.html
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
And go back to Msconfig > Startup, and RE-check "Scan Registry".

You need the Scanregw tool to back up a good and working Registry at startup.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Messages
2,773
This is what I meant by other problem

You need to get rid of this

[{11111111-1111-1111-1111-111111111111}]
CODEBASE = h**p://usa-download.nocreditcard.co...2936/dialer.exe
 

alamal

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2000
Messages
834
Ok guys, I'm gonna start with removing Klez. The rest of the stuff in the registry is probably beyond me so if I may ask for your assistance I'd surely appreciate it.

Here goes!

Thanks and I'll post back.
Peter
 

alamal

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2000
Messages
834
Ok, I ran the Klez tool unsuccessfully. It said my System Restore was enabled. But it's not. Then it said it isn't. In the beginning of the tool run it'll say it's not disabled then at the end it says it was unsuccessfull because it WAS enabled. Arrrggggggggggg!!!

I did everything I was supposed to to disable it.

Please help.
Thanks,
Peter
 

alamal

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2000
Messages
834
I was finally able to rid the virus using the tool.

Now, Steam mentioned getting rid of the CODEBASE.

How do I do this? What other things do I need to correct or fix in order to get this pc back up to snuff?

I want to thank you guys for all the help you've provided thus far.

God bless,

Peter
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Alamal, if you go to Internet Options > Settings > View Objects, in that folder you will find:

[{11111111-1111-1111-1111-111111111111}]
CODEBASE = h**p://usa-download.nocreditcard.co...2936/dialer.exe

Just right click on it and select "remove"
 

alamal

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2000
Messages
834
Ok, is that all there is to it? I am finished with everything?

I just want to say again how grateful I am for helping me out today and in the past.

You folks really are great and provide a fantastic service to those who can't otherwise afford to take their pc in for service.

Take care and may God bless all those who help others!

Peter
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
What I'd suggest is that you reenable your normal startups in msconfig and give us another post of the startup list. Certain things like scanregistry and statemgr must be left enabled for full WinME functionality.
 

alamal

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2000
Messages
834
Ok, Rollin'. I'll post back tomorrow with the results.

One funny thing though. I can't reenable System Restore. In fact, it was always disabled. Every time I went to enable it I found that the disable button was always checked after a restart.

Peter
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
It may be because statemgr is unchecked in msconfig > startups. PChealth, should be enabled as well I believe, but statemgr is essential to System Restore.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top