1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Posssible Scanner Problems

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Gary16735, Jan 26, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Gary16735

    Gary16735 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    360
    Am having some problems with scanner programs. I have my scanner, Vissioneer 5800, hooked up to a non-powered USB hub. By hooking the unit up to a powered hub or direct to USB connection on computer, would this alleviate most of the problems? Any views on powered vs non-powered hubs. Thank you, Gary
     
  2. Byteman

    Byteman Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,742
    Hi- Yes, the powered type is usually best. If the software has been installed but scanner does not work correctly, there is a reccommended method to uninstall and reinstall drivers from Safe Mode, which usually fixes the problem. Here is the support page from which you can select any level of tech support based on what you prefer. http://www.visioneer.com/Support/flatbed/5800_homepage.asp

    You did not post what operating system you have, so here is link to a page to select your correct version, follow troubleshooting info for USB scanners....on uninstalling and reinstalling from Safe Mode. You may have to uninstall the USB drivers also it says, I have done this with a few Visioneer scanners using Paperport software and the step by steps always cured problem. Looks harder than it is. Note the info about having the correct chipset drivers for USB installed, specially if you have a VIA chipset on the motherboard.
    http://www.visioneer.com/support/general/gentrouble.asp

    http://www.visioneer.com/support/general/troubleshooting/usbtroubleshooting.asp
    Above is for win98, follow link for your OS.
     
  3. Gary16735

    Gary16735 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    360
    Not quite sure what I did but it seems to be working just fine now!!! For the record, I am running ME. Thanks for the come back. Gary
     
  4. Byteman

    Byteman Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,742
    Gary- Aww, cant you tell us just a rough idea of what you did?
     
  5. Gary16735

    Gary16735 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    360
    For the third time, I uninstalled and re-installed the scanner. This time I ddownloaded the drivers from the Visioneer site (again) and installed them. I had installed the drivers each time I re-installed the scanner but am thinking something was amiss with the previous version of drivers that were downloaded. So far, so good. Also, I am not impressed with support from Visioneer. Haven't answered my support request email of over a week ago. Gary
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/115365

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice