Post a link to a specific Post here on TSG

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

RandyG

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 26, 2000
Messages
7,762
Here's a little tip for y'all!

When posting a link like to a specific post, first you Reply to the thread, but hit Quote button,
, at bottom right of post you would like to refer to.

This opens the reply box, but in your address, you will notice that it gives a "postid=????????" reference. That is the number you need for bookmarking which post you want to refer to.


the actual url you will use is standard in the beginning, just different in 2 particulars

http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=58871#post277277

here it is, as it is being displayed in a truncated fashion

http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=58871#post277277

I have used hewee's first post in the "TSG Members . . .Show yourselves" thread as an example. I showed you above how to get the correct post id, and to get the correct threadid, you just put your cursor over the thread link found at the top. The url will display at the bottom left of your Browser window, and the last numbers are the threadid.


Use this whenever you want to mention a specific post, instead of just providing a link to the entire thread!


Here's an image to help explain it better

<img src="http://forums.techguy.org/attachment.php?s=&postid=279931">
 

buck52

Banned
Joined
Mar 9, 2001
Messages
8,372
RandyG

just playing around... I've been entering in the preview reply just a different post number into your tip and less than half the time it works. most times it take me to the beginning of the thread.

after some more playing it turns out that for me at least I have to include the page number also

example

This does not work...http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=58871#post279931

This does...http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=58871&pagenumber=7#post279931

edit: note all the post id numbers on page 1 work without including the page number

I guess I'll stop fooling around now ...Time to start thinking about eating turkey :)

buck
 

RandyG

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 26, 2000
Messages
7,762
buck52 - and to confuse things even more, neither one of your links worked for me.

The first one you posted, based on what i had suggested, just took me to the first page, as it did you.

The second link you posted took me to the 7th page of that thread, but it was blank, as that thread only has 4 pages for me. I use a default 40 posts per page view, which can be set in your CP options.


So, I guess my little tip ain't so hot after all!


Oh well, for a short time, I thought I was a smarty!:D
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2001
Messages
1,100
How about this, if we were referring to a particular thread or post, you copy the address on the address line? Like this about my post for maintaining a picture thread?

http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?s=&postid=280115#post280115

Or did this work only because I just entered it?

<HR>
I switched to the first page of the thread and copy and pasted it here:
http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=58871&perpage=20&pagenumber=1

Page 3
http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=58871&perpage=20&pagenumber=3
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
3,208
Well darn, you beat me to it again Anglin Fool. You have it right from what I found. Is there a way to copy and paste from the address line or must I always add #post?????.
 

buck52

Banned
Joined
Mar 9, 2001
Messages
8,372
my address line does not show the actual post it only shows the thread #. It appears that you also have to add the page number if it's a multiple page thread but... the problem is that you can set how many posts/page you view which makes adding the page number unreliable. ie: anglin_fool's page 3 link does take you to page three but the post at the top of that page maybe different for different people.

sorry if I'm just repeating myself :)

buck
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
3,208
Hover over the quote of the post you want and write down the number. Then copy and paste the address like normal, then add #post???????(whatever you copied down) after. Involved but thats how I am doing it.
 

buck52

Banned
Joined
Mar 9, 2001
Messages
8,372
for some reason I'm not getting the page number in the address bar so I have to add that also.

this is what my address bar looks like

<img src="http://forums.techguy.org/attachment.php?postid=281003">
 

Attachments

RandyG

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 26, 2000
Messages
7,762
Doyce - The link you had might solve the problem, because it specifies how many per page there are.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top