1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

power button not always powering off pc

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by kimmer13, Nov 28, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kimmer13

    kimmer13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    730
    I have a Systemax PC w/550 AMD Athlon processor. For the last month or so, when I shut down Win98 2nd Ed. the PC doesn't actually turn off every time. Maybe every 3rd or 4th time, it stays on (black screen). When this happens, the front power button won't turn it off either. I have to toggle that switch in the back of the PC by the power cord. I'm familiar with the hanging on "Windows is shutting down, please wait" problem, but this isn't the same thing. Any ideas? Kimmer
     
  2. frenat

    frenat

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 1999
    Messages:
    662
    This is not a complete fix but to turn it off from the front, you should be able to hold the power button in for 4 seconds and it will turn off.
     
  3. brooke

    brooke

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2000
    Messages:
    69
    We have this power off problem ALOT in our office! There are several things I have tried. Some help, but some do not. My PC still only powers down correctly about 60% of the time, and I've put every fix known to man on it. I even updated the BIOS and that didn't work. It is a known problem with Microsoft 98SE, so it might be just something you'll have to live with. But you can press and hold your power button in for 4 or 5 seconds until it powers down, but I think someone already mentioned that.

    Here are some things you can try:

    If you are running Norton Antivirus, turn off the floppy boot scan at shutdown:
    http://service4.symantec.com/SUPPOR...09cad39bc45cdea188256a220027ab83?OpenDocument

    And here is a fix Microsoft offers:
    http://support.microsoft.com/suppor...problems&rnk=7&src=DHCS_MSPSS_gn_SRCH&SPR=W98

    Microsoft also suggests that if you have more than 8 mapped drives, this can also cause shutdown problems.

    If you are connected to a LAN, and your network connections aren't closing correctly, this can also cause problems.

    Good Luck!
     
  4. brooke

    brooke

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2000
    Messages:
    69
    Oops! It didn't post the entire link for the web sites.

    The Microsoft fix is in Article Q260067

    and you can find the Norton fix at symantec.com if you search their knowledge base for "disable floppy drive scan"
     
  5. kimmer13

    kimmer13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    730
    Thanks for the ideas. I'll try the Norton first, as I do have that running. Kimmer
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/59907

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice