1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Power problems?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by VistaHatesMe, Oct 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. VistaHatesMe

    VistaHatesMe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Hi guys/gals those more knowledgeable then I.

    Guess what I am NOOB and need help. I'm sure you are not use to this. ;)

    Well I have an acer AST180-UD400B that has been a great computer until recently when one night i shut it down and it wouldn't turn on the next morning.
    I had a buddy of mine test the power supply and it was found to be bad.
    To my surprise acer was more then happy to send me a new one at no charge.
    So i went to install it today and the same thing happened. Just wont turn on.

    What i have noticed is that if i don't plug in the 4 wire connector {2 Yellow wires with black stripes 2 Solid black wires} to the left of the cpu/processor the unit will power up, the dvd rom kicks in and it triggers the fans but the video doesn't kick on.


    So now finally then question.
    Whats broke?
    Should i shoot it?
    Do i now own a 20lb paper weight?
     
  2. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    well you need to plug that 4pin 12v power connector in. if it still doesnt start then it may be you video. does it make any beeps when you start up?
     
  3. VistaHatesMe

    VistaHatesMe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    I assume your talking about the beeps from the pc speaker? No no beeps.

    Yea i know that it needs to be hooked up. The second its hooked up the power supply will shut down.
     
  4. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    unplug the drives from the power, pull out any pci cards, in other words have only the psu, mb, cpu with fan, 1 stick of ram and gfx see what happens then, you will have to have a known working psu, most times what you are descibing is the psu
     
  5. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,948
    The above is good advise; you can try it for troubleshooting.

    I tend to think you might have had a VR [voltage regulator] on the board fail. What that 4pin lead does is supply 12V pw to the cpu [after it goes through a reg to step down to 1.5V or whatever the cpu uses]
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/643483

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice