1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Power saving mode

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Luis98, Dec 4, 2017.

Advertisement
  1. Luis98

    Luis98 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Every time I turn on my computer it goes straight to power saving mode. Can anyone help me???
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. Luis98

    Luis98 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    How am I suppose to run it if all I see power save mode
     
  4. Luis98

    Luis98 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    It's a ibuypower pc
     
  5. SomeCarGuy

    SomeCarGuy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Check for third party software that has s feature that could change it. Or maybe some software that came with the computer that could be changing it.
     
  6. Grey03

    Grey03

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Messages:
    722
    Check the connectors of your monitor. I think there is a wire that is not connected properly.
     
  7. Luis98

    Luis98 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Or maybe because it's a dell monitor that doesn't work very well.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 5, 2017
  8. Luis98

    Luis98 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    When I connect my other HDMI to it I see ASUS UEFI BIOS Utility- EZ Mode
     
  9. Luis98

    Luis98 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    I literally tried 3 different HDMI cables and it still says power save mode
     
  10. texasbullet

    texasbullet

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,881
    Might be a problem with your RAM. Turn off your computer, remove RAM and clean the contacts carefully with an eraser and reinstall the RAM again into its proper place.
     
  11. Luis98

    Luis98 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    I cleaned the contacts with the eraser and it still doesn't work. Can I try using a dry cloth or something to clean it?
     
  12. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    108,019
    Luis98,

    I've edited your post for language. Please be more careful in the future as this is a family friendly site.
     
  13. texasbullet

    texasbullet

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,881
    The other method I saw was to clean the contacts of your RAM and then remove the bios battery and wait a few minutes and reinstall the battery. If this does not solve your problem then you may have a RAM issue or other hardware issues.
     
  14. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    12,119
    Some things to try:
    1. Change the HDMI cable - it could be faulty
    2. Boot into safe mode
    Does the screen remain on?
    If so, it could be that the wrong resolution is set for the monitor which it can't handle and goes into power saving mode.

    What is the brand and model of monitor?
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1200595