1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

power supply atx 2.0 any suggestions as to a power supply?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jays_rule, Jul 19, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jays_rule

    jays_rule Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    54
    Hey, i'm building a computer but i haven't realized that the power supply i need is an atx 2.0. What power supply should i get??

    I was orignally looking at the Ultra X-connect but it doesn't support atx 2.0 Damn.
     
  2. Jackiefrost9

    Jackiefrost9

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,765
  3. rhorne4

    rhorne4

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    267
    Antec neopower 480.
     
  4. Jackiefrost9

    Jackiefrost9

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,765
    That's a good one too.
     
  5. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,242
    Do be careful; some of these are 20 pin connectors that come with an adapter for 24 pin. Make sure the ps you are buying has a real 24 pin atx plug. Using an adapter is just asking for problems.
     
  6. jays_rule

    jays_rule Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    54
    would the OCZ PowerStream 420 Watt be a good choice?/
     
  7. Jackiefrost9

    Jackiefrost9

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,765
    I use an adapter and I have no problems.
     
  8. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,242
    Sometimes they work if the ps is a very high quality unit. The way the adapter works is to split the existing 12V rail [the 24 pin has two 12V rails] This results in [generally] decreased amps available for the 12V rails. If the ps has a very high amp rating on the 12V rail [something like 28+] it MAY work. Many mb mfg state "Do not use an adapter" this is because of the reason stated above.

    Basically they put 24 pins on the board for a reason; it needs it.
     
  9. Jackiefrost9

    Jackiefrost9

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,765
    Thanks for the info. I didn't cheap out on my powersupply so that's probably why it's working.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/382566

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice