1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Power supply installation

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by holtzmjh, Jan 6, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. holtzmjh

    holtzmjh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    385
    I am buying a new case for my computer. I have an ATX case with a 350 watt power supply. How hard would it be to take out my old power supply and put it in the case that I buy? Does it just require unscrewing a few screws? What trouble might I run into? Thanks.
     
  2. rugrat

    rugrat

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    1,869
    Usually, 4 screws and its out. Most new cases have a power supply in them but, if this one doesn't or it is just inferior. Easy job as long as everything is standard ATX and not something proprietory.

    SeeYa
     
  3. holtzmjh

    holtzmjh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    385
    Thanks.
     
  4. rugrat

    rugrat

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    1,869
    No problem, let us know if you have any issues after you get it.

    seeYa
     
  5. Jtoast

    Jtoast

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,362
    Make sure the power supply fits in the case you buy :D...cheap cases use a short depth power supply sometimes.
     
  6. flyeater

    flyeater

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    1,452
    Be carefull if your using any Dell parts. See here
     
  7. plschwartz

    plschwartz

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2000
    Messages:
    11,451
    Flyeater.
    That is really a great article! I think it is a must read.
    May I suggest that you not just post it here in the middle of a thread but post it on its own thread where it might get wider notice.
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I must admit, interesting reading, I'll be keeping that in mind in the future. :)
     
  9. rugrat

    rugrat

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    1,869
    flyeater

    Good info, Packard Bell was at one time the worst for this type of thing. Guess that's why they didn't make it in the states.

    SeeYa
     
  10. flyeater

    flyeater

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    1,452
    plschwartz consider it done.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/111803

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice