power supply keeps breaking for unknown reasons

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Powersupplyguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 14, 2011
Messages
3
system:

Intel quad core 2.8 GHz processor
Asus P5KPL-AM SE motherboard
2GB ram
zotac 550gtx ti amp! edition
windows 7 ultimate

hi,

the problems started last week when i installed my new graphcis card (stated above) i played crysis 2 for about 30 mins and my pc completely shutdown and i couldn't turn it back on.

I opened it up and saw that the motherboard light was still on, i sent it into a professional who confirmed my theory of it being a power issue and he changed the power supply.

The same thing happened the day my pc was returned so I sent it back, he thinks we should up the power to a 850 w supply

the thing that gets me is that my graphics card recommends 400w or greater, but my original supply was 650w, and the one he replaced was 500w please suggest anything as i am worried the same will happen with this 850w supply

Thanks in advance :)
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2002
Messages
3,491
What brand of power supply were you using?

Not all power supplies are the same and wattage isn't an indicator of quality.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2005
Messages
11,670
Winpower is a midline power supply, not the best and not the worse. I believe that 500W is too "light" for your application with a quad core Intel processor and a 550 GTX graphics card

My guess is the current power supply is becoming stressed and one of the rails is "dropping out" when the power supply heats up.

This power supply should be adequate for the quad core processor and 550 GTX card..

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139021

If you want to go to a 850W unit to have more reserve power then I would recommend this model.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139022
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,308
Not to get off the subject here.

The Asus P5KPL-AM SE motherboard supports up to 4 GB of DDR2 PC2-6400(DDR2-800) RAM.

Why are you hobbling your computer's performance for gaming by using only 2 GB?

-------------------------------------------------------
 

Powersupplyguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 14, 2011
Messages
3
thanks for the quick replies and help guys,

i'm hoping the 850w one the guy is fitting tomorrow is going to be enough if not i'll probably end up going for your suggestion win2kpro.

also i've already ordered 4 gb of ram, should be coming tomorrow.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2005
Messages
11,670
Post the make and model of the power supply that get's installed. There is a tremendous amount of differences in power supply's rated at the same wattage.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top