power supply question/suggestions

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

rosh325

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 30, 2003
Messages
1,098
Hey all,
Well I successfully built the system that you guys helped me with:

Asus A7N8X-X
1 gig corsair ram
Amd athlon xp3200+
Raidon 128mb 9600 video card

anyway, the case I bought came with a ps (it was the x-dreamer case) and yet I dont think its very good. According to the asus probe, my +12 and +5 are fluxuating alot. Is this bad? Should I replce the PS? How hard is this to do and what do you recommend as a good/powerful/quiet/not too expensive power supply? Thanks all
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
psuz are real easy to replace, 4 screws and a bunch of plugs. I would go with Antec, Enlight , Coolmax, 400watt. don't know about the voltages, it might be normal, wait for someone else to answer that one. what kind of psu comes with the Xdreamer?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
40,853
Asus probe has never been very reliable. Go into your bios and check your voltage there. In addition you might want to install speedfan It is an app I include on all of my builds / installs.

As to ps, good brands are Antec, Enlight, Enermax, Coolmax, Sparkle. The best "bang for the buck" will be an Enlight ps. Stay away from foxxcon, deer, allied, powmax ps. Generally one of the better indicators for a ps is weight. Go down to your local compusa and see what an Antec 400W ps weighs. Now see what the one you select weighs. If it is quite a bit lighter, then pass on it.
 

rosh325

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 30, 2003
Messages
1,098
Thanks crj, I'll go into bios and post what i see. What is speedfan?
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
Got to watch that "choosing psu by weight" thing, next thing you know, the cheapy brands will be putting lead in their psuz.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
40,853
Speedfan is a utility that monitors temps, voltages, and fan rpm. It can run all the time in your tray or you can just check it once in a while. I set it to give a constant readout of cpu temp.
 

rosh325

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 30, 2003
Messages
1,098
Hey all,
Well im still confused. Will 400 watts be enough? This case has a front LCD panel, and 6 lcds in the front..not to mention two very loud fans etc. The thing tends to drain power. I need a quiet/powerful/reliable power supply. If anyone can suggest a specific item from newegg.com that would be amazing. Thanks all
Also, do i need to remove the motherboard when changing p/s or take any kind of precautions to prevent power supply from discharging while removing it?
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
No you don't have to remove mobo to change psu. what brand of psu do you have?
 

rosh325

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 30, 2003
Messages
1,098
Hey and thanks for the reply. I have whatever POS power supply came with my x-dreamer 2 case. Is there a difference between the 3? I saw one is 450, and one had two fans, what differences do these make? Also, the case came with two 80mm blue fans which look amazing, but are really really loud, any advice?
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
your case fans are probably really high rpm, hence the noise, you can get speed controls for them so you can turn them down to quieter levels, if they are screwed into place you can pick up some rubber washers from the hardware store to put between the fan and case, if they are snap in then i'm not sure what else you can do. the psuz are all good wasn't sure how much you wanted to spend, i'm partail to Antec, but the Coolmax are good bang/buck. if you get a new psu make sure you save the old one for trouble shooting, it's good to have a spare. the 2 fans on the psu i've been told are nice because 1 fan faces down towards your cpu and helps pull the hot air away and out the back of psu (extra exhaust fan)
 

rosh325

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 30, 2003
Messages
1,098
thanks brite. Anyone have an opinion/experience with those mentioned above?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top