Power supply question

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

franco44

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2000
Messages
148
i have a year old HP pc.Pent 4 with a 250watt ps. i would like to upgrade the ps to a 350watt. i saw a 350watt antec at best buy but i am not sure if it is compatible with my pc. the clerk at best buy said something about checking for a reverse ground which can fry the pc. i called HP but they could not give me an answer. the ps i now have has 3 screws and 1 offset on the back if it means anything. the parts dept at HP said they dont sell power supplies.
thanks,franco
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2000
Messages
4,168
It is quite possible that it would not be compatible. HP has put out systems with a different wiring than is standard. If this is the case with yours you could very well burn the motherboard thus making it useless.

The only way to tell is with a digital voltmeter and a wiring diagram of the standard plug to go by to check if they are wired the same.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2004
Messages
521
I had a power supply from an old pavillion box die on me. After extensive searching, I eventually found that www.usereasy.com has the best "replacement" power supply list around. Just search for the exact model of your computer on that site, and it should come up with a list of power supplies that are compatible with that. Just be careful and double/triple check the information and dimensions to make sure you've got the right model number in the search.

The shear volume of products that have been put out by HP is simply amazing. There were probably 5 that were close enough to my product numbers, that I was very careful to verify that I had the right products before purchasing. Cost wasn't too bad either, ~$60 for a 350 watt replacement. The old supply had been a 188 watt model.

Oh, that reminds me, you'll have the best information to search with if you remove the existing power supply and have it in front of you when you go looking for the replacement.

Good luck,

-Scott
 

franco44

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2000
Messages
148
i cant find an answer. ive searched the internet all day - no go ,franco
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2004
Messages
53
Find out who made the motherboard. Then you will be able to look it up and determine if it's standard.
 

franco44

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2000
Messages
148
i got this info for the mobo -ASUSTek model P4SD-LA, version Rev.1.xx i am pretty confused. i really dont know what to search for. thanks, franco
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top