1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Power supply runs for a second

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Zutant, Jan 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Zutant

    Zutant Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Got a friend who has a HP Pavilion 061 we bought an antec 430w power supply installed it and when we hit the power button we geta 1/2 second hit of power and then nothing untill we unplug the cord and try again.

    We tried with nothing connected and got the same results.
    When we completely disconnected the psu from the motherboard and jumped the power on pins it starts.
    We put his old psu in and the computer powers up.
     
  2. daddyhominum

    daddyhominum

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    958
    How many pins on the PSU and how many on the MB?
    Did you buy a 24 pin connector for a 20 pin MB?
     
  3. jackdw

    jackdw

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,729
    A 24 pin PSU came with a case I got. I didn't realise that 4 of them were removable. Check for that.
     
  4. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    I think you got a bad Antec power supply.
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Sounds like the MB isn't seeing the PG (Power Good) signal.
     
  6. Zutant

    Zutant Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Powers up when we jump the power pin on the connector.


    24 pin psu and board.. unfortunatly I'm helping him over the phone since we live 1700 mile away so he may have connected someting wrong but from what he described it sounds right
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    When the MB controls the power up sequence, it insists on the proper voltages being present. When you jumper the P/S pin directly, it will power up, but that doesn't mean the MB is seeing good power.
     
  8. DeLorean

    DeLorean

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    If you have a multimeter you can test the supplies coming out of the PSU.

    http://www.playtool.com/pages/psuconnectors/connectors.html

    Halfway down this page there's a pin layout for the 24 pin connector.

    This way you can see if the PSU will satisfy your motherboard, as JohnWill mentioned.


    PS. I assume anyone who owns a multimeter knows exactly where not to stick it's probes, if not don't attempt this :p
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/535915

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice