1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Power Supply

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Monique, Jan 26, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Monique

    Monique Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    82
    I am trying to find the wattage of my power supply without getting into the box. I have looked at my Bios & cannot seem to find it. Is there somewhere in Win XP that reports this? Thanks - Monique :rolleyes:
     
  2. dannyboyfx

    dannyboyfx

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,074
    do you know who made and the serial number, that could tell you how powerful it is. im not seeing anything in Windows XP though. You can look through control panel->system->hardware->device manager. and see if there is a power supply listed. I dont have one, but you never know.
     
  3. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    There is no parameter of a power supply that gets reported to BIOS or Windows.

    You will need to open the box, or research the specifications of purchase
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    The label on the side of the P/S should tell you, all you have to do is remove the side cover.
     
  5. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    unless you have xray vision its really going to be tough.
     
  6. Monique

    Monique Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    82
    Thanks - I opened the box - Monique
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    X-Ray vision? Why not just read it off the label on the P/S?
     
  8. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    But to read the label, the computer case must either be opened, or X-ray vision employed.
     
  9. Monique

    Monique Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    82
    I do not have x-ray vision, therefore had to open the box. I thought Microsoft had thought of everything. It really seems a person should be able to access this information in Windows!
     
  10. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    Well to do that the power supply would need to have a chip with that information built in and it would need to connect to the motherboard to relay this info at which point Windows or other software would be able to access the info.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/323684

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice