1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Power Supply

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by dragonkx, Oct 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dragonkx

dragonkx Thread Starter

hi, i have two bfg 9600 gt which require a minimum of 24 amps each i beleive, but i am still new at this so i got a 630 watt modular power supply, but i am not sure how to ready the diagram of wattage, i know newbish. For the pci express cables are they the +12v1 anv +12v2 or the +5v? I need to know so i might have to return my power supply

2. BG-0

BG-0

On the 12v1 and 12v2. How much is there on them? How much is the max combined load of the 12 V rails?
    I'd say you'll be fine, as long as the PSU is high quality, still, post the info here.

3. dragonkx

dragonkx Thread Starter

Yeah i thought it was the 12v1 and 12v2 well the amp doesnt seem much bfg 9600 gt requires a 24 amp min, and it requires "425W PCI Express-compliant system power supply with a combined 12V current rating of 28A or more (Minimum system power requirement based on a standard PC configured with an Intel® Core™2 Extreme X6800 processor)" im not sure if they mean it for the whole wire including the two wires total or 28a each. but anyways my i got two power supply both sli capable, they arent expensive but around 100. One has 2 12v rails of about 18a each with a total of 630 watt. and one more power supply at 23a each at 730 watt. Both are unopened, so im plannin on returning one. Im wondering does that 28 watt they recommend is that for sli total or just for 1 card, have to ask them

4. BG-0

BG-0

It's for 1.. Wait.. Yeah, it's for one card. The 630 W one should be enough, but I would use the bigger one. Just to be sure and keep your system healthy by avoiding maximum stress on the PSU.