1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Power-up pins

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by playtom, Mar 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. playtom

playtom Thread Starter

How do you identify the power-up pins on the motherboard and what to do to short it? I have extracted some advice from the internet from someone who had the same computer problem as me and he fixed it with this method. Just wanted to ask some of the experts here how to do that since i'm not an electrician and are pretty much oblivious when it comes to these kind of tasks.

Here's the original paragraph from him which i didn't understand much of:

"Try this once..take the CPU out from the motherboard...then short the power-up pins on the motherboard(that is...the pins to which your power-on switch of CPU is connected) with the help of screwdriver.

I learned this just yesterday....my pc was giving trouble and then it stopped booting..nothing on the display...fans running.I took it to the vendor...and he did this procedure...and the pc started booting again.Told that the BIOS hangs due to which this problem happens.

So you can also try this and see i if it works for you....best of luck."

2. Triple6

Triple6 Moderator

First Name:
    Rob