1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ppo3152

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by samantha777, Jan 21, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. samantha777

    samantha777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    After starting up the computer and reaching the desktop I get the following message. Ppo3152 this programme has performed an illegal operation and will be shut down. If problem persists please contact vendor.

    Since getting this message I have also found that I can not run Norton Antivirus programme. It starts up then disappears into thin air!!!!

    This is a copy of my startuplist if this helps!!???

    StartupList report, 21/01/03, 17:37:53
    StartupList version: 1.51
    Started from : C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\STARTUPLIST.EXE
    Detected: Windows 95 B (Win9x 4.00.1111)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v4.72 SP1 (4.72.3110.0000)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\OFFICE51\SOINTGR.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\OMHO.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\LOADWC.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT OFFICE\OFFICE\OSA.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT OFFICE\OFFICE\FINDFAST.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\tapiexe.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINZIP\WINZIP32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\STARTUPLIST.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Listing of startup folders:

    Shell folders Startup:
    [C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
    EPSON Background Monitor.lnk = C:\ESM2\Stms.exe
    Office Startup.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA.EXE
    Microsoft Find Fast.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\FINDFAST.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
    SO5 Integrator Pass Two = C:\OFFICE51\SOINTGR.EXE
    BrowserWebCheck = loadwc.exe
    SchedulingAgent = mstinit.exe /logon
    prbrgee = C:\WINDOWS\APPLIC~1\oaeaofro.exe -QuieT

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce

    wel = omho.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

    SO5 Integrator Pass One = C:\OFFICE51\SOINTGR.EXE
    SchedulingAgent = mstask.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
    (Created 14/1/2003, 1:20:58)

    [rename]
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\GLB1A2B.EXE
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\GLB1A2B.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

    C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NAVBOOT.EXE /STARTUP
    PATH ;C:\ORAWIN95\BIN

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WINSTART.BAT listing:

    if exist :\WINDOWS\aluinst.exe del :\WINDOWS\aluinst.exe
    if exist :\WINDOWS\aluinst1.exe del :\WINDOWS\aluinst1.exe

    --------------------------------------------------


    Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

    (no name) - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3}

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [VivoActive Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\VVWEB.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://player.vivo.com/ie/vvweb.cab

    [Shockwave ActiveX Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\DIRECTOR\SWDIR.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab

    [Shockwave Flash Object]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

    [Video Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\VIDEOX.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://streamp.babenet.com/cabs/videox.cab

    [download Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\VXPSPE~1.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://www.gigex.com/ActiveX/vxpspeeddelivery.dll

    [{731918D2-517A-47E2-886A-3BC1380C591D}]
    CODEBASE = http://webpdp.gator.com/v3/download/pdpplugin_4094_hd3ptdm.cab

    [{8522F9B3-38C5-4AA4-AE40-7401F1BBC851}]
    CODEBASE = http://www.mp3toplist.com/freemp3.exe

    --------------------------------------------------
    End of report, 4,552 bytes
    Report generated in 0.624 seconds

    Command line options:
    /verbose - to add additional info on each section
    /complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
    /full - to include several rarely-important sections
    /force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
    /forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
    /forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
    /history - to list version history only

    Please write your answer simply as I am not the most literate computer person in the world!!!!!

    Thanks!
    Samantha
     
  2. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    Ensure you have a good firewall like free Sygate running. Download, install, update and run Spybot. Only 'Fix' pre-checked problems found. Don't tick anything yourself.

    ***

    Check your available resources by right-clicking My Computer; clicking Properties; Click the Performance tab. Resources available are displayed as percent there at top. Check it when you get done running the System Configuration Utility mentioned below.

    Click the Start button; Run; type 'msconfig', without the quoatation marks, in the Run box and click OK; Then click the Startup tab; Uncheck anything you don't need running in the background. For reference on what's not needed running in the background in the System Configuration Utility, view this website first and print out the list:

    http://www2.whidbey.net/djdenham/Running_items.htm

    It's important that you print out the above mentioned list. The site provides a printer friendly link.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. samantha777

    samantha777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    Thanks Styxx you are a genius!!

    I now have no error message after start up and loading windows is now very fast!!!!!!

    Still have one wierd thing still happening and that is my Norton Antivirus is still disappearing but I havent yet found the free Sygate firewall thingy yet any ideas???!!!

    samantha
     
  4. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    Just a Internet Security savvy user.

    First do the on-line virus scan mentioned below; Then get the free firewall mentioned below and installed (double-click the download) then proceed:

    You'll likely need to uninstall Norton Anti-virus (NAV) in the Add/Remove Programs control panel; Restart your computer; At Desktop, Open My Computer; Point to [C:]; Enter the Program Files directory and right-click delete the Norton Anti-virus folder there. Restart your computer.

    ***

    Update your antivirus, temporarily disable your screen saver (choose None) and scan with your anti-virus set to scan All Files. Update and scan bi-monthly.

    A excellent free anti-virus (AVG) is available at http://www.grisoft.com.
    Only one anti-virus installed at once. The same for a firewall.

    You can scan on-line to double-check your Windows scanner at http://housecall.trendmicro.com/

    *** Mandatory (get a firewall of any brand) - Get free Sygate personal firewall anti-hacker countermeasure from http://www.sygate.com. 'Don't let anything out to the Internet you don't know what it is.' Also please see http://www.firewallguide.com/ for more information on why all on-line home computers should be firewall enabled.
     
  5. samantha777

    samantha777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    Did the online scan and found I had what they called a Trojan virus. Iknow thats bad but I wasnt allowed to get it cleaned so I know I have to delete it but its in a file called

    C:windows\system\kqfkpfp.dll Is it safe to delete it?
     
  6. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    I assume you're using Win98. If you're using WionMe or higher let me know.

    (tap F8 five times per second during a restart; Choose option number three (3) in the Windows Startup dialog box using the arrow keys below the Delete key, and strike the Enter key; Click Ok when prompted).

    Once in Safe Mode:

    Click the Start button; Click Find; Files or folders; Ensure [C:] is in the Look in box; type, kqfkpfp.dll, in the 'type in a keyword to find' box; click search now; Right-click the appropriate found file and point to Delete. Exit the Search Results Wizard. Empty the Recycle bin after you've run the on-line scan oncee again to ensure you're HDD is clean.

    A hacker was able put that Trojan on there while your computer was on-line because you had no firewall installed. Get free Zone Alarm or Sygate on there immediately if one is not there already. Then run another on-line scan, yet again, to ensure it hasn't happened in the meantime.
     
  7. samantha777

    samantha777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    I have been trying to install Sygate Personal Firewall and it initalizes the install and then I get a message that I need Winsock 2.0. So I went to Microsoft and downloaded what I thought was Winsock 2.0 a programme called Y2k1.3/WS2 update and install it. then I try to install Sygate again and it comes up with the same message about Winsock 2.0 Please help as I nom know how important firewalls are now!!!!!!

    Thanks!! :eek:
     
  8. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    Are you running Win95 or something? I've never seen Windows request Winsock 2.0 before. Have you done all the Critical & Recommended Updates at http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com?

    You may need to get a older version of Zone Alarm from http://www.oldversion.com (2.6 or maybe one version lower).

    Zone Alarm doesn't support Win95 in it's 3.x versions either.
     
  9. QSection

    QSection

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    samantha777

    You can try Outpost Firewall for free. It easlily runs on Windows 95 if that is what you have. BTW - it has very few complaints on the web and works more flexibly and completely than any other.

    Best wishes

    HMSS Q Section
     
  10. IMM

    IMM

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    3,257
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/114504

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice